Jean Monnet and Europe

One of the fathers of Europe

From the ECSC to the United States of Europe

A life
convictions

Jean Monnet and his legacy

The union of Europe and peace

Jean Monnet was born on 9 November 1888 in Cognac. At the age of 16, he left his native land for the first time for England, then Scandinavia, Russia, Egypt, Canada and the United States, to represent his father's company. After years of travelling, he returned to France in 1914 when the First World War broke out. He immediately went into government service and proposed to the President of the Council to set up a plan to coordinate Allied war resources by bringing France and Great Britain together.

After the war, without ever having studied, Jean Monnet became one of the most respected financial experts in the world: in the 1920s, he participated in the economic recovery of certain Central and Eastern European countries; in 1929, he founded and co-chaired Bancamerica-Blair; from 1934 to 1936, he stayed in China as an advisor to Chiang Kai-shek.

When the Second World War approached, Jean Monnet was mandated by Edouard Daladier to negotiate with Washington, then London. He then inspired de Gaulle and Churchill to create a Franco-British union to confront Nazism. At the Liberation, he created a modernisation and equipment plan which enabled France to revive its economy.

In 1950, as international tensions mounted, Jean Monnet and his team conceived the European Community project. On 9 May 1950, with the agreement of Chancellor Adenauer, Robert Schuman made a proposal on behalf of the French government (drafted by Jean Monnet) to place all Franco-German coal and steel production under a common High Authority open to other European countries. The FRG, Italy, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands immediately responded favourably. The European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was thus born, laying the foundations for the European Community. In 1952, Jean Monnet became the first President of the High Authority.

After the failure of the European Defence Community (EDC), Jean Monnet founded the Action Committee for the United States of Europe. Bringing together European political parties and trade unions, the Committee became a breeding ground for initiatives in favour of European integration, such as the creation of the common market, the common monetary system, the European Council, British membership and the election of the European Parliament by universal suffrage.

For his efforts to bring European countries closer together, on 2 April 1976 Jean Monnet was awarded the title of "Honorary Citizen of Europe" by the Heads of State and Government meeting in the European Council. He had already retired from politics and was writing his memoirs at his home in Houjarray.

On 16 March 1979, he died at the age of ninety-one. His ashes are now buried in the Pantheon in Paris.

Jean Monnet

1888

November

Birth in Cognac

1906

1914

Representation of the family business abroad

1914

1918

Management of the Franco-British ship pool in London

1919

1923

Appointment to the post of Deputy Secretary General of the League of Nations

© Jean France La Photographie Belge

1923

1927

Return to the struggling family business

© Poitou-Charentes Region - M. Deneyer, 1988.
c

1927

1928

Participation in the economic recovery of some Eastern European countries, contribution to the stabilisation of the zloty in Poland and the leu in Romania

1929

1934

Founded and co-chaired a major US bank in San Francisco, Bancamerica-Blair Corporation

1934

1936

Chiang Kai-sheck's special advisor in China takes up his post

1938

1938

Special mission as secret envoy of the President of the Council, Edouard Daladier, to the United States to buy American warplanes

1940

1940

Proposal for a total Franco-British union; sent to Washington by the British to negotiate the purchase of military equipment

1942

1942

Victory Program" initiative: America becomes the "arsenal of democracy

US National Archives -(1953 Marshall Plan)
Vignal Mourier, Alger – Source Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne

1943

June

Special mission to Algiers, participation alongside de Gaulle in the Provisional Government of the French Republic until 1945

Vignal Mourier - Jean Monnet Foundation for Europe, Lausanne

1946

January

Foundation and management of the Commissariat au Plan to equip and modernise France

AFP

1950

1952

Design of a coal-steel pool project between France and Germany

USA/SRE, Paris - Source Jean Monnet Foundation for Europe, Lausanne

1952

1955

Presidency of the ECSC High Authority

1955

June

Resignation from the presidency of the ECSC and foundation of the Action Committee for the United States of Europe

© Intercontinental / Afp – AFP

1975

1979

Retirement from political life and writing of memoirs (published in 1976)

1979

March

Death in Houjarray (16 March)

1988

November

Transfer to the Pantheon (9 November)

AFP

Jean Monnet Association

Bringing Jean Monnet's European ideas to life in the present

Read more

Back to top

Jean Monnet et l’Europe

Un des pères de l’Europe

De la CECA aux Etats-Unis d'Europe

Une vie
des convictions

Jean Monnet et son héritage

L'union de l'Europe et la paix

Jean Monnet naît le 9 novembre 1888 à Cognac. A l’âge de 16 ans, il quitte pour la première fois sa terre natale pour l’Angleterre, puis la Scandinavie, la Russie, l’Egypte, le Canada et les Etats-Unis, pour y représenter l’entreprise de son père. Après des années de voyage, il revient en France en 1914 alors que la Première Guerre mondiale éclate. Il se met immédiatement au service d’Etat et propose au Président du Conseil de mettre en place un plan de coordination des ressources de guerre alliées, en rapprochant la France et la Grande Bretagne.

Après la guerre, sans jamais n’avoir fait de grandes études, Jean Monnet devient l’un des experts financiers les plus respectés au monde: dans les années 20, il participe au redressement économique de certains pays de l’Europe centrale et de l’Est ; en 1929, il fonde et co-préside Bancamerica-Blair ; de 1934 et 1936, il séjourne en Chine en tant que conseiller de Tchang Kaï-check.

Lorsque la Seconde Guerre mondiale approche, Jean Monnet est mandaté par Edouard Daladier pour négocier avec Washington, puis Londres. Il inspire ensuite à de Gaulle et Churchill le projet d’une union franco-britannique pour faire face au nazisme. A la Libération, il crée un plan de modernisation et d’équipement qui a permis à la France de relancer l’économie française.

En 1950, alors que les tensions au niveau international montent, Jean Monnet conçoit avec son équipe le projet de Communauté européenne. Le 9 mai 1950, avec l’accord du chancelier Adenauer, Robert Schuman fait une proposition au nom du gouvernement français (rédigée par Jean Monnet) visant à placer l’ensemble de la production franco-allemande de charbon et d’acier sous une Haute autorité commune ouverte à d’autres pays d’Europe. Aussitôt la RFA, l’Italie, la Belgique, le Luxembourg et les Pays-Bas y répondent favorablement. Ainsi naît la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l’acier (CECA), jetant les bases de la Communauté européenne. En 1952, Jean Monnet devient le premier président de la Haute autorité.

Après l’échec de la Communauté européenne de défense (CED), Jean Monnet fonde le Comité d’action pour les Etats-Unis d’Europe. Regroupant les partis politiques et les syndicats européens, le Comité devient un véritable terreau d’initiatives en faveur de l’intégration européenne, comme la création du marché commun, du système monétaire commun, du conseil européen, ou encore l’adhésion britannique et l’élection du Parlement européen au suffrage universel.

Pour ses efforts en faveur du rapprochement des pays européens, le 2 avril 1976 Jean Monnet reçoit le titre de « Citoyen d’honneur de l’Europe », décerné par les chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement réunis en Conseil européen. Il s’est déjà retiré de la politique et rédige à ce moment ses mémoires dans sa maison d’Houjarray.

Le 16 mars 1979, il s’éteint à l’âge de quatre-vingt onze ans. Ses cendres reposent désormais au Panthéon à Paris.

Jean Monnet

1888

Novembre

Naissance à Cognac

1906

1914

Représentation de l’entreprise familiale à l’étranger

1914

1918

Direction du pool des navires franco-britanniques à Londres

1919

1923

Nomination au poste de secrétaire général adjoint de la SDN

© Jean France La Photographie Belge

1923

1927

Retour à l’entreprise familiale en difficulté

© Région Poitou-Charentes – M. Deneyer, 1988.
c

1927

1928

Participation au redressement économique de certains pays de l’Europe de l’Est, contribution à la stabilisation du zloty en Pologne et du leu en Roumanie

1929

1934

Fondation et coprésidence d’une grande banque américaine à San Francisco, la Bancamerica-Blair Corporation

1934

1936

Entrée en fonction de conseiller spécial de Tchang Kai-Check en Chine

1938

1938

Mission spéciale en tant qu’envoyé secret du président du Conseil, Edouard Daladier aux Etats-Unis pour y acheter des avions de guerre américains

1940

1940

Proposition d’une union totale franco-britannique; envoyé à Washington par les Anglais pour négocier l’achat de matériel militaire

1942

1942

Initiative du lancement du « Victory Program » : l’Amérique devient l’ « arsenal de la démocratie »

©Archives nationales américaines -(1953 plan Marshall)
Vignal Mourier, Alger – Source Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne

1943

Juin

Mission spéciale à Alger, participation aux côtés de de Gaulle au Gouvernement Provisoire de la République Française jusqu’en 1945

©  Vignal Mourier –Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne

1946

Janvier

Fondation et direction du Commissariat au Plan pour équiper et moderniser la France

©  AFP

1950

1952

Conception du projet d’un pool charbon-acier entre la France et l’Allemagne

©USA/SRE, Paris – Source Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne

1952

1955

Présidence de la Haute Autorité de la CECA

1955

Juin

Démission de la présidence de la CECA et fondation du Comité d’action pour les Etats-Unis d’Europe

© Intercontinentale / Afp – AFP

1975

1979

Retraite de la vie politique et rédaction des mémoires (parution en 1976)

1979

Mars

Mort à Houjarray (le 16 mars)

1988

Novembre

Transfert au Panthéon (le 9 novembre)

©  AFP

Association Jean Monnet

Faire vivre au temps présent les idées européennes de Jean Monnet

Lire la suite

Back to top