European values in the context of migration 

Europe

20 October 2016


1era Edition of the "18-20h of the Jean Monnet Association", 18 February 2016

"European values in the context of migration

The Jean Monnet Association was pleased to organise the first edition of the "18-20h of the Jean Monnet Association to the European Parliament's Information Office on the subject of European values in the context of migration, a source of much controversy in Europe.

Public opinion is becoming increasingly divided within the EU over the issue of migrants and the challenge that their reception poses to the fundamental policies and values common to all Europeans: social protection, respect for human rights, security, free movement of persons, etc. Some states are trying to stem the influx of migrants; others have considered it necessary to organise themselves to receive them in their own countries. It remains to be seen whether Migration is really a problem in Europe and what the real consequences of migration waves are today.

To provide us with this insight and to allow us to explore these issues further, we have invited our audience to debate with Mr Hartmut Marhold, author of a recent policy paper entitled : "Migration is not the real problem.

Hartmut Marhold is R&D Director of CIFE (Centre International de Formation Européenne) and teaches at the Universities of Cologne (Germany) and Poznan (Poland).

He is Vice President of the Institute for European Politics in Berlin. He specialises in the history of European integration and German European policy, and also works on the institutional and constitutional development of the European Union and federalism.

An alumnus of the Institut Européen des Hautes Etudes Internationales, class of 1980/81, he was a DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) lecturer at CIFE from 1986 to 1991. From 2002 to 2013, he held the position of Director General of CIFE.

Back to top

Les valeurs européennes dans le contexte des migrations 

Europe

20 octobre 2016


1ère Edition des « 18-20h de l’Association Jean Monnet », le 18 février 2016

« Les valeurs européennes dans le contexte des migrations »

L’Association Jean Monnet a eu le plaisir d’organiser le 18 février 2016, la première édition des « 18-20h de l’Association Jean Monnet » au bureau d’information du Parlement européen sur le sujet des valeurs européennes dans le contexte des migrations, source de nombreuses polémiques en Europe.

Les fractures au sein des opinions publiques ne cessent de s’accroître au sein de l’UE, face à la question des migrants et au défi que constitue leur accueil pour les politiques et valeurs fondamentales communes à tous les Européens : protection sociale, respect des droits humains, sécurité, libre circulation des personnes… Certains Etats tentent d’endiguer l’afflux de migrants ; d’autres ont considéré nécessaire de s’organiser pour bien les recevoir au sein de leur pays. Il reste à savoir si la migration est réellement un problème en Europe et quelles sont les véritables conséquences des vagues migratoires aujourd’hui.

Pour nous apporter ces éclairages et nous permettre d’approfondir ces questions, nous avons invité notre public à débattre avec Monsieur Hartmut Marhold, auteur d’un récent policy paper intitulé : « Migration is not the real problem ».

Hartmut Marhold est Directeur R&D du CIFE (Centre International de Formation Européenne) et enseigne dans les Universités de Cologne (Allemagne) et de Poznan (Pologne).

Il est vice-président de l’Institut für Europäische Politik à Berlin. Spécialisé dans l’histoire de la construction européenne et la politique européenne de l’Allemagne, il travaille également sur le développement institutionnel et constitutionnel de l’Union européenne et le fédéralisme.

Ancien élève de l’Institut Européen des Hautes Etudes Internationales, promotion 1980/81, il a été lecteur du DAAD (Office allemand pour les échanges  universitaires) au CIFE de 1986 à 1991. De 2002 à 2013, il a occupé le poste de Directeur Général du CIFE.

Back to top