Philippe Laurette

President

Philippe Laurette

6 April 2022


Philippe Laurette became involved in associations in favour of Europe at a very young age. He was President of the European Federalist Youth and then President of the young people of the European Movement. He then held various positions of responsibility in European associations and movements. He will be a member of the board of the European Union of Federalists and of the European Movement, will chair the ME of Hauts de Seine and will be until 2021 vice-president of the House of Europe in Paris. 

Professionally, he began as general delegate of the Victor Hugo Club for the United States of Europe. He collaborated with many personalities: Michel Albert, Bernard Barthalay, Virgilio Dastoli, Jean Elleinstein, Maurice Faure, Stéphane Hessel, Edgar Morin, Altiero Spinelli and Robert Toulemon. The Club's initiatives were supported by François Fontaine, Etienne Hirsch, Pierre Pflimlin and Pierre Uri. He then joined the Europe et Société Foundation, led by François Régis Hutin, President of Ouest France, and Jacques Moreau, Secretary General of the European Economic and Social Committee, and then the Association Europe & Entreprises, as General Delegate, and later as President.

This journey led him to the presidency of the Jean Monnet Association at the request and with the support of Marianne Monnet. He will develop, Europeanise, feminise and rejuvenate the AJM. He has been Honorary President since 2008 and former President of the Steering Committee since 2018. He was also General Delegate of Réalités du Dialogue Social- Europe & Société. This in-depth knowledge of the European Union's intricacies has led him to give numerous conferences on European issues and to write a book, European Construction, published by Editions Syros in 1992, as well as numerous articles, Member of the Editorial Board of the magazine "COSMOPOLITIQUE".

He was also Professor of Economics at the International Business School (ESGCI) - PARIS, member of the jury of the ESCP Europe-Business School, and has taught at the University of Rennes 1, the INSA engineering school in Lyon, the ESSCA business school in Angers, the University of Paris VI, the University of the State of Morélos, and the Marymount school in Mexico.

 As a symbol of his strong and constant European commitment, Philippe Laurette was awarded the medal of the Hôtel Matignon by the Prime Minister, Jean Pierre Raffarin, and the medal of Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Mérite by the Minister of European Affairs, Mr Bruno Lemaire, and from the hands of Mrs Catherine Lalumière, President of the Maison de l'Europe in Paris, and former Secretary General of the Council of Europe

 Retired since October 2021, Philippe Laurette is involved in the :

  • Project group "Implementation of the green deal (FIT for 55)" led by Europe &Entreprises, Fenêtre sur l'Europe, Institut Erasme and CEREINEC
  • Steering committee: the continental manifesto - for a republic of Europe.
  • Honorary Committee of the Instituto europeo Jean Monnet. Faculdad de derecho y ciencias sociales. Universidad autónoma del estado de Morelos Mexico
Back to top

Philippe Laurette

Président d'Honneur

Philippe Laurette

6 avril 2022


Philippe Laurette s’est engagé très jeune dans les associations en faveur de l’Europe. Il a  été Président de la Jeunesse Européenne Fédéraliste puis  Président des jeunes du Mouvement européen. Il a ensuite occupé différents postes à responsabilité dans des associations et mouvements européens.  Il sera membre du bureau de l’Union Européenne des Fédéralistes et du Mouvement Européen, présidera le ME des Hauts de Seine et sera jusqu’en 2021 vice- Président de la Maison de l’Europe de Paris. 

Professionnellement, il débutera comme  délégué général du Club Victor Hugo pour les Etats Unis d’Europe.  Il collaborera avec de nombreuses personnalités : Michel Albert, Bernard Barthalay, Virgilio Dastoli, Jean Elleinstein, Maurice Faure, Stéphane Hessel, Edgar Morin,  Altiero Spinelli et  Robert Toulemon. Les initiatives du Club reçurent le soutien  de François Fontaine, Etienne Hirsch, Pierre Pflimlin et Pierre Uri. Ensuite à la Fondation Europe et Société animé par le Président de Ouest France François Régis Hutin et Jacques Moreau secrétaire général du Comité Economique et Social Européen puis à l’Association Europe & Entreprises, comme Délégué général, puis comme Président.

Ce parcours l’a conduit à la présidence de l’Association Jean Monnet à la demande et avec le soutien de Marianne Monnet. Il développera, européanisera, féminisera  et rajeunira  l’AJM. Il en est Président d’honneur depuis 2008 et ancien Président du Comité d’Orientation depuis 2018. Il a été également  Délégué général de Réalités du Dialogue Social- Europe & Société. Cette connaissance fine des arcanes de l’Union Européenne  l’a amené à effectuer de nombreuses conférences sur les questions européennes, à écrire un ouvrage, La Construction Européenne, paru aux Editions Syros, en 1992 ainsi que de nombreux articles, Membre du Comité de Rédaction de la revue « COSMOPOLITIQUE ».

Il a également été Professeur d’économie à l’Ecole de Commerce International (ESGCI) – PARIS, membre du jury de l’ESCP Europe-Business School, et a  enseigné à l’université de Rennes 1, à l’école d’ingénieurs  INSA de Lyon, à l’école de commerce ESSCA d’Angers, à l’université de Paris VI, à l’université de l’Etat du Morélos, à l’école Marymount au Mexique.

 Symbole de son engagement européen fort et constant, Philippe Laurette a reçu la médaille de l’hôtel Matignon par le premier ministre Jean Pierre Raffarin et la médaille de Chevalier de l’ordre national du mérite, à l’initiative du ministre des Affaires européennes Monsieur Bruno Lemaire, et des mains de Madame Catherine Lalumière, Présidente de la maison de l’Europe de Paris, et ancienne Secrétaire générale du Conseil de l’Europe.

 A la retraite depuis octobre  2021 Philippe Laurette participe au :

  • Groupe projet « réalisation du green deal ( FIT for 55) » porté par Europe &Entreprises, Fenêtre sur l’Europe, l’Institut Erasme et le CEREINEC
  • Steering commitee : le manifeste continental- pour une république d’Europe.
  • Comité d’honneur de l’Instituto europeo Jean Monnet. Faculdad de derecho y ciencias sociales. Universidad autónoma del estado de Morelos Mexique
Back to top