Spain - 30 years of European integration

Europe

20 October 2016


The Jean Monnet Association, in collaboration with theCervantes Institute of Paris and the European and Mediterranean Book Dayshad the opportunity to organise the "Spain - 30 years of European integration on 14 October 2016 at the Maison Jean Monnet and to receive H.E. Mr Ramón de Miguel, Spanish Ambassador to France.

In 2016 we are celebrating the thirtieth anniversary of the signing of the treaties of accession of Spain to what was called the European Economic Community, today the European Union. On this occasion we were privileged to invite the Ambassador to give us his insight into the transformations of Spain as a witness but also as a major actor in the evolution of Europe towards a political union. His words were very clear and motivating, and his speech was much appreciated by the large number of people present for the occasion.

His Excellency gave a historical reminder of the very complicated period of Spain before European integration, but also of the negotiation process that took place jointly with the Portuguese neighbours. When asked about the future of Europe and Spain's role in the European Union, Ramón de Miguel reassured the audience that Spain's place is within Europe and that we must strengthen this union between European countries despite the existing difficulties. Without minimising the negative repercussions of Brexit or the migrant crisis, the ambassador did not fail to highlight the positive results and advances achieved by the countries of the European Union in recent decades.

You can also find our event on Facebook

Back to top

Espagne – 30 ans d’intégration européenne

Europe

20 octobre 2016


L’Association Jean Monnet, en collaboration avec l’Institut Cervantes de Paris et les Journées du Livre européen et méditerranéen, a eu l’occasion d’organiser la conférence « Espagne – 30 ans d’intégration européenne » le 14 octobre 2016 à la Maison Jean Monnet et de recevoir S.E.M. Ramón de Miguel, Ambassadeur d’Espagne en France.

En 2016 nous célébrons les trente ans de la signature des traités d’adhésion de l’Espagne à ce qui s’appelait la Communauté économique européenne, aujourd’hui l’Union Européenne. A cette occasion nous avons eu le privilège d’inviter Monsieur l’Ambassadeur pour nous apporter son éclairage sur les transformations de l’Espagne en tant que témoin mais aussi acteur majeur de l’évolution de l’Europe vers une union politique. Ses propos ont été très claires et motivantes, son discours étant très apprécié par le grand nombre des personnes présentes pour l’occasion.

Son Excellence a fait un rappel historique sur la période très compliquée de l’Espagne avant l’intégration européenne mais aussi sur le processus de négociation qui a eu lieu conjointement avec les voisins portugais. Etant interrogé sur l’avenir de l’Europe et le rôle de l’Espagne dans l’Union européenne, Ramón de Miguel, a rassuré l’audience en soulignant que la place de l’Espagne est au sein de l’Europe et que nous devons renforcer cette union entre les pays européen malgré les difficultés existantes. Sans minimiser les répercussions néfastes du Brexit ou de la crise des migrants, l’Ambassadeur n’a pas manqué de mettre en évidence le bilan positif et les avancées obtenues par les pays de l’Union européenne les dernières décennies.

Retrouvez notre événement également sur Facebook

Back to top