The American view of Europe

https://youtu.be/usdsGHPm9h0

25 November, 2022

18:15:00

Event

The Jean Monnet Association's meetings with a time for exchange on The American view of Europe hosted by Lieven Taillie - Vice-Chairman and Philippe Laurette - President of the association.

Guests :

Llewellyn King & Linda Gasparello are journalists, members of the Association of European Journalists, with long experience of covering politics, business and foreign affairs in the United States and around the world.

They are co-hosts of the White House Chronicles, a programme that will celebrate its 20th anniversary in January 2023, making it one of the longest-running weekly news and public affairs programmes, broadcast nationwide in the United States on more than 200 PBS and public, educational and governmental stations, as well as on the commercial AMG TV network. It is also available worldwide on the Voice of America television network.

Lincoln Mitchell is a political analyst, expert and writer based in New York and San Francisco. Lincoln works on democracy and governance issues in the former Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, the Caribbean, the Middle East, Africa and Asia. He also works with businesses and NGOs around the world, including in the former Soviet Union. Lincoln also writes about American politics.

He is a frequent contributor to NN Opinion, NBC News, Brussels Morning and the San Francisco Examiner, and was the national political correspondent for the New York Observer from 2014 to 2016. Lincoln was on the faculty of Columbia University's School of International Affairs from 2006 to 2013. He remains affiliated with the Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies at Columbia and teaches in the Department of Political Science and the School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia. In addition, he has worked for years as a political consultant, advising and managing national political campaigns.

Randy YalozTrained in New York, Paris and Tel Aviv, Mr. Yaloz focuses his practice in the areas of intellectual property and mergers and acquisitions, with a particular emphasis on cross-border transactions between North America and Europe. He practices primarily in Paris, and has appeared in other jurisdictions. He is the Chairman of Republicans Abroad for France.

Zeljana ZOVKO official portrait - 9th Parliamentary term

Željana ZovkoMEP (EPP) is an expert in international relations with a rich experience in foreign affairs and diplomacy. She is a member of the European Parliament's Foreign Affairs Committee. She holds a BA (Hons) in French from the University of North London. Željana Zovko started her political and diplomatic career at the Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina in 1999, where she worked as a public relations officer and was head of office of the Croatian member of the Presidency.

She was resident ambassador of Bosnia and Herzegovina to France from 2004 to 2008 and, during the same period, non-resident ambassador to Algeria, Tunisia, Monaco and Andorra as well as permanent representative of Bosnia and Herzegovina to UNESCO. Between 2008 and 2011, she was resident ambassador of Bosnia and Herzegovina to Spain and non-resident ambassador to Morocco. During the same period, she was Permanent Representative to the World Tourism Organization. Željana Zovko was Foreign Affairs Advisor to the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of Bosnia and Herzegovina from 2012 to 2015. From May 2015 to October 2016, she was the Ambassador of Bosnia and Herzegovina to Italy. In the first and second Croatian elections to the European Parliament, she was on the coalition list led by the Croatian Democratic Union.

This event is organised jointly with theAssociation of European Journalists (AEJ Belgium) and the help ofEurope and Business and Window on Europe.

The conference is accessible to members by videoconference (welcome at 18:00) and live (18:15) on our Youtube channel. The following will be reserved for members only.

Back to top

La vision de l’Europe par les Américains

https://youtu.be/usdsGHPm9h0

25 novembre, 2022

18:15:00

Evènement

Retrouvez les rendez-vous de l’Association Jean Monnet avec un temps d’échange sur La vision de l’Europe par les Américains animé par Lieven Taillie – Vice-Président et Philippe Laurette – Président de l’association.

Invités :

Llewellyn King & Linda Gasparello sont des journalistes, membres de l’Association des journalistes européens, qui ont une longue expérience de la couverture de la politique, des affaires et des affaires étrangères aux États-Unis et dans le reste du monde.

Ils sont co-animateurs des White House Chronicles, une émission qui fêtera ses 20 ans en janvier 2023, ce qui en fait l’une des émissions hebdomadaires d’information et d’affaires publiques les plus anciennes, diffusée dans tout le pays aux États-Unis sur plus de 200 stations PBS et publiques, éducatives et gouvernementales, ainsi que sur le réseau commercial AMG TV. Elle est également disponible dans le monde entier sur la chaîne de télévision Voice of America.

Lincoln Mitchell est un analyste politique, un expert et un écrivain basé à New York et à San Francisco. Lincoln travaille sur des questions liées à la démocratie et à la gouvernance dans l’ancienne Union soviétique, en Europe de l’Est, dans les Caraïbes, au Moyen-Orient, en Afrique et en Asie. Il travaille également avec des entreprises et des ONG dans le monde entier, notamment dans l’ancienne Union soviétique. Lincoln écrit également sur la politique américaine.

Il contribue fréquemment à NN Opinion, NBC News, Brussels Morning and the San Francisco Examiner, et a été le correspondant politique national du New York Observer de 2014 à 2016. Lincoln a fait partie de la faculté Columbia University’s School of International Affairs de 2006 à 2013. Il reste affilié à l’Institut Arnold A. Saltzman – Institute of War and Peace Studiesde Columbia et enseigne au département des sciences politiques et à l’École des affaires internationales et publiques de Columbia. En outre, il a travaillé pendant des années en tant que consultant politique, conseillant et gérant des campagnes politiques nationales.

Randy Yaloz, formé à New York, Paris et Tel-Aviv, M. Yaloz concentre sa pratique dans les domaines de la propriété intellectuelle et des fusions et acquisitions, avec un accent particulier sur les transactions transfrontalières entre l’Amérique du Nord et l’Europe. Il exerce principalement à Paris, et a plaidé dans d’autres juridictions. Il est le président des Républicains à l’étranger pour la France.

Zeljana ZOVKO official portrait – 9th Parliamentary term

Željana Zovko, MEP (PPE) est une experte en relations internationales avec une riche expérience des affaires étrangères et de la diplomatie. Elle est membre de la commission des affaires étrangères du Parlement européen. Elle est titulaire d’un BA (Hons) en français de l’Université de North London. Željana Zovko a commencé sa carrière politique et diplomatique à la présidence de la Bosnie-Herzégovine en 1999, où elle a travaillé en tant que collaboratrice aux relations publiques et a été chef de bureau du membre croate de la présidence.

Elle a été ambassadrice résidente de Bosnie-Herzégovine en France de 2004 à 2008 et, pendant la même période, ambassadrice non-résidente en Algérie, en Tunisie, à Monaco et en Andorre ainsi que représentante permanente de la Bosnie-Herzégovine à l’UNESCO. Entre 2008 et 2011, elle a été ambassadrice résidente de Bosnie-Herzégovine en Espagne et ambassadrice non-résidente au Maroc. Au cours de la même période, elle a été représentante permanente à l’Organisation mondiale du tourisme. Željana Zovko a été conseillère en affaires étrangères auprès du président du Conseil des ministres de Bosnie-Herzégovine de 2012 à 2015. De mai 2015 à octobre 2016, elle a été ambassadrice de Bosnie-Herzégovine en Italie. Lors des première et deuxième élections croates au Parlement européen, elle figurait sur la liste de coalition menée par l’Union Démocratique Croate.

Cet évènement est organisé conjointement avec l’Association of European Journalists (AEJ Belgium) et l’aide d’Europe et Entreprises et Fenêtre sur l’Europe.

La conférence accessible aux adhérents en visioconférence (accueil 18h00) et en direct (18h15) sur notre chaine Youtube. Les suivantes seront réservées uniquement aux adhérents.

Back to top