What future for Europe?

Europe

8 November 2021


Colloquium of 6 November 2021 - Interventions by :

Pierre LARROUTUROU, MEP, Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament

Olivier VEDRINEProfessor (h.c.), President of the Continental European Union Club, EU Expert, Journalist, Member of the Steering Committee of the Jean Monnet Association

Moderator: Gianluca PASTORELLI Vice-President of the Jean Monnet Association.

Cognac trader, French international civil servant, international banker, Jean Monnet is considered one of the "fathers of Europe". Born in Cognac, Charente, on 9 November 1888, he has always surprised by the audacity of his projects and by his pragmatism. Having received the honorary title of Honorary Citizen of Europe in 1976, awarded by the European Council of the European Union to a person for his or her outstanding work in promoting the construction of Europe, he undeniably contributed to building Europe and making it more concrete during his lifetime.

He wrote in his Memoirs: "I always thought that Europe would be made in crises, and that it would be the sum of the solutions to these crises.
He saw opportunities in the crises that humanity or Europe was going through. Thus, he presented his revolutionary project for the creation of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) in the 1950s, the Schuman Declaration in the years '55-'57, the project for the European Defence Community (EDC) and the Action Committee for a United States of Europe...
He was constantly looking ahead and was a man of action.
For Jean Monnet, crises were premises for possible recoveries, as the current crisis linked to COVID-19 has demonstrated for Europe. Does this visionary spirit still remain in the decisions of today's political leaders at European level? Are the Europe of Health, the new "EU Next Generation" budget, the Conference on the Future of Europe, the new ALMA project announced by Ursula von der Leyen on 15 September during her State of the Union speech #SOTEU ... examples of rebounds for Europe in times of crisis?

Although Monnet envisaged the construction of Europe with the aim of solving European problems, his vision was global, attaching great importance to peace. He believed in the equality of men and nations, and he emphasised the importance of man at every turn. An alert humanist, he retained his pragmatism and stated that "men accept change only in necessity and they see necessity only in crisis" (Memoir p 129).

Back to top

Quel futur pour l’Europe ?

Europe

8 novembre 2021


Colloque du 6 Novembre 2021 – Interventions de :

Pierre LARROUTUROU, député européen, Groupe de l’Alliance Progressiste des Socialistes et Démocrates au Parlement européen

Olivier VEDRINE, Professeur (h.c.), President of the Continental European Union Club, EU Expert, Journaliste, Membre du Comité d’Orientation de l’Association Jean Monnet

Modération : Gianluca PASTORELLI Vice-Président de l’Association Jean Monnet.

Négociant en cognac, fonctionnaire international français, banquier international, Jean Monnet est considéré comme l’un des « pères de l’Europe ». Né à Cognac en Charente le 9 novembre 1888, il a toujours surpris par l’audace de ses projets et par son pragmatisme. Ayant reçu le titre honorifique de citoyen d’honneur de l’Europe en 1976, attribué par le Conseil européen de l’Union européenne à une personne pour son travail exceptionnel à la promotion de la construction européenne, il a contribué indéniablement à faire construire l’Europe et la rendre plus concrète durant sa vie.

Il écrivait dans ses Mémoires : « J’ai toujours pensé que l’Europe se ferait dans les crises, et qu’elle serait la somme des solutions qu’on apporterait à ces crises ».
Il voyait les opportunités dans les crises que l’humanité ou l’Europe traversaient. Ainsi, il a présenté son projet révolutionnaire de création de la Communauté Européenne du Charbon et d’Acier (CECA) dans les années ’50, la Déclaration Schuman dans les années ‘55-’57, le projet de la Communauté Européenne de Défense (CED) et le Comité d’action pour les États-Unis d’Europe…
Il avait constamment une vision à long terme et était un homme d’action.
Les crises incarnaient pour Jean Monnet des prémisses pour des relances possibles, comme la crise actuelle liée à la COVID-19 l’a démontrée pour l’Europe. Cet esprit visionnaire demeure-t-il encore dans les décisions des dirigeants politiques actuels au niveau européen ? L’Europe de la santé, le nouveau budget « EU Next Generation », la Conférence sur l’avenir de l’Europe, le nouveau projet ALMA annoncé par Ursula von der Leyen le 15 septembre lors de son discours sur l’état de l’Union #SOTEU … sont-ils des exemples de rebondissements pour l’Europe en temps de crise ?

Même si Monnet envisageait la construction européenne dans le but de résoudre les problèmes européens, sa vision est mondiale, attachant une grande importance à la paix. Il croit à l’égalité entre les hommes et les nations et il souligne à chaque fois l’importance de l’homme. Humaniste éveillé, il conserve son pragmatisme et il affirme que « les hommes n’acceptent le changement que dans la nécessité et ils ne voient la nécessité que dans la crise » (Mémoire p 129).

Back to top