Petition for Ukraine

News

20 September 2022


Responding to the request of the European Council meeting in Versailles on 10 March, the European Commission has started the process leading to the opening of negotiations for Ukraine's accession to the European Union without delay. 

On a personal visit to Kiev on 8 April, the day after the tragic discoveries in Butcha, the President of the Commission, Ursula Von der Leyen, undertook to submit to the European Council before the summer the opinion that would give the negotiators the starting signal. For her, "they are our people and we want them to be on the inside".

This strong, remarkable gesture is important. But unfortunately it will remain symbolic. It only makes it possible for Ukraine to follow the formal process provided for in the texts. Such a process can take several years, more than a decade in the case of the most recent accessions of Central and Eastern European countries. The initial approval phase of opening negotiations is followed by a very long technical examination phase and then a final ratification phase. All EU institutions and Member States are involved at each stage.

Is it conceivable that such a cumbersome procedure could be used at a time when Ukraine and our fellow Europeans are in a state of absolute emergency? President Zelensky is rightly asking for a special, exceptional procedure.

There can be no question of granting membership on the cheap, which would be a source of further misunderstanding and frustration. On the other hand, the signatories ask those in charge of the European institutions to do their utmost to ensure that the so-called pre-accession provisions are put in place by 2022. These provisions guarantee a candidate country financial aid and technical support from multi-national European teams to enable it to meet the requirements of membership in the best possible way. The signatories request that this funding and these teams be deployed as soon as an initial peace agreement has been approved, on an exceptional scale corresponding to the material and human damage suffered by Ukraine.

Making such an announcement today would be a sign of confidence in the Ukrainian people's ability to rebuild themselves, a clear response to their desire to join us, a horizon for their future beyond the war, in keeping with the very nature and vocation of the European Union. To actually make such a gesture would also be to give the best chances to the rapid completion of the accession itself. 

Support the petition on change.org

Ms Ursula Von der Leyen, Ms Roberta Metsola, Mr Charles Michel

Ladies and Gentlemen, 

Mr. President,

Please take note of the attached appeal to Europe: urgent aid to Ukraine must become pre-accession aid.

We are counting on your strong common European will to achieve this important goal for Ukraine and for Europe as soon as possible.

Please accept, Ladies and Gentlemen, the assurance of our highest consideration.

Thierry Jeantet
President of the Mouvement d'Action Réflexion pour les Réformes Sociales

Philippe Laurette
President of the Jean Monnet Association

First initiators :

Annie Blanchard, community activist, France

Agnès Fossaert, Honorary Dean of the Court of Cassation, France

Tiziana Simoni, former student of Sc-Po-Bologna, Italy

Screcko Cebron, committed cooperatives, Slovenia

Rui Coelho E Campos, Lawyer, SSE activist, Portugal

Guy Courtois, committed to Solidarity Finance, France

Edwin Morley-Fletcher, President of Lynkeus, Italy

Michel Porta, Co-Founder of M.A.R.S., committed to the European Cooperative Movement

Jérome Vignon, committed to associations

Édouard Pflimlin, multimedia editor in press and publishing

Back to top

Pétition pour l’Ukraine

Actualité

20 septembre 2022


Répondant à la demande du Conseil européen réuni à Versailles le 10 mars, la Commission européenne a engagé sans délai le processus conduisant  à l’ouverture des négociations en vue de l’adhésion de l’Ukraine à l’Union européenne. 

En se rendant personnellement à Kiev le 8 avril au lendemain des sinistres découvertes de Butcha, la Présidente de la Commission, Ursula Van der Leyen s’est engagée à remettre au Conseil Européen avant l’été l’avis qui doit donner le top départ aux négociateurs. Pour elle, « ils sont des nôtres et nous voulons qu’ils soient à l’intérieur».

Ce geste fort, remarquable, est important. Mais il restera  malheureusement symbolique. Il ne fait que rendre possible à l’Ukraine de suivre  le processus formel prévu par les textes. Or un tel processus peut exiger plusieurs années, plus d’une décennie dans le cas des adhésions les plus récentes des pays d’Europe centrale et orientale. A la phase d’approbation initiale  de l’ouverture des négociations s’ajoute une phase très longue d’examen technique puis une phase finale de ratification. Toutes les institutions de l’UE et tous ses Etats membres sont impliqués dans chaque étape.

Une telle lourdeur est-elle concevable alors que l’Ukraine, nos compatriotes européens sont en situation d’urgence absolue ? Le président Zelensky demande à juste raison de bénéficier d’une procédure spéciale, exceptionnelle.

Il ne peut être question d’accorder une adhésion au rabais, source ultérieure de malentendus et de frustrations. Les signataires demandent en revanche aux responsables des institutions européennes de tout mettre en œuvre pour que dès 2022 soient enclenchées les dispositions dites de pré-adhésion. Ces dispositions  garantissent à un pays candidat les aides financières et les appuis techniques d’équipes européennes plurinationales lui permettant de répondre au mieux aux exigences de l’adhésion. Les signataires  demandent que ces financements et ces équipes soient déployés dès qu’un premier accord de paix aura pu être agréé, avec une ampleur exceptionnelle correspondant à l’état des dommages matériels et humains subis par l’Ukraine.

Faire une telle annonce aujourd’hui serait donner à la fois un signe de confiance au peuple ukrainien sur sa capacité à se reconstruire, une réponse claire à son désir d’être des nôtres, un horizon pour son avenir au-delà de la guerre, bien dans la nature même et dans la vocation de l’Union européenne. Réaliser effectivement un tel geste serait aussi donner ses meilleures chances à l’aboutissement rapide de l’adhésion elle-même. 

Soutenez la pétition sur change.org

Madame Ursula Van der Layen, Madame Roberta Metsola, Monsieur Charles Michel

Mesdames les Présidentes, 

Monsieur le Président,

Nous vous remercions de prendre connaissance de l’appel, ci-joint, que nous lançons en Europe : l’aide urgente à l’Ukraine doit devenir l’aide à sa pré-adhésion.

Nous comptons sur votre forte volonté européenne commune pour réaliser dans les meilleurs délais et au mieux cet objectif si important pour l’Ukraine et pour l’Europe.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames les Présidentes, Monsieur le Président, l’expression de notre haute considération.

Thierry Jeantet
Président du Mouvement d’Action Réflexion pour les Réformes Sociales

Philippe Laurette
Président  de l’Association Jean Monnet

Premier.e.s intiateurs, initiatrices :

Annie Blanchard, engagée associative, France

Agnès Fossaert, Doyenne Honoraire à la Cour de Cassation, France

Tiziana Simoni, ancienne Elève de Sc-Po-Bologna, Italie

Screcko Cebron, engagé coopératives, Slovénie

Rui Coelho E Campos, Avocat, engagé ESS, Portugal

Guy Courtois, engagé Finance Solidaire , France

Edwin Morley-Fletcher, Président de Lynkeus, Italie

Michel Porta, Co-Fondateur du M.A.R.S., engagé Mouvement Coopératif Européen

Jérome Vignon, engagé associatif

Édouard Pflimlin, rédacteur multimédia  dans la presse et l’édition

Back to top