The European Union must become popular again!

Henri Malosse

News

8 September 2021


It is gratifying that the EU Member States have convened a conference on the Future of Europe which held its first plenary meeting on 19 June, more than twenty years after the Convention on the Future of Europe which led to a future Constitutional Treaty, aborted as we know following the
negative votes of Dutch and French citizens.
But the reality is that since this failure, the EU has been accumulating negative votes, as we have seen with the referendums in Ireland, Denmark, Greece or the Netherlands, but especially with the unexpected vote in favour of BREXIT.
The BREXIT marks the first departure of a major state in the construction of Europe, the United Kingdom, a country to which Jean Monnet was so attached that he was the one who drew up a project for a merger with France during the debacle of June 1940. It was not until the departure of General De Gaulle from the French political scene that the United Kingdom, reluctant to accept any idea of pooling European resources, finally rallied behind the star-spangled banner of Europe. Jean Monnet was publicly delighted!

Learn from our failures:

The departure of the United Kingdom, following a popular vote, is a trauma from which we must learn. The classic Brussels explanation of the manipulation of public opinion in England by populists and an anti-European press is not enough to explain this result. It is also very disturbing to note that it was the working classes, the less well-off neighbourhoods and cities that voted to leave the EU, the very people that Jean Monnet and Robert Schuman wanted to mobilise in favour of European construction that would bring them peace, prosperity and social progress!

The lesson we can learn from this fiasco is that the distance between the institutions and the people, and in particular the poorest people, is dramatic.

It is therefore essential that, at this conference on the future of Europe, we draw the right and real lessons from the BREXIT, not the ones that please us and suit us!

We must therefore regain the confidence of citizens, and in particular that of working-class people.


It is positive that the Members of the Executive Committee of the Conference have announced that they will pay the greatest attention to the opinions that citizens and civil society will express, both through a platform open to suggestions from all and through citizens' panels.


However, I would stress that the citizens' panels must reflect the full diversity of European opinions and, above all, not be limited to the usual suspects, English-speaking people who are used to the corridors of Brussels and Strasbourg. The first indications we have in this respect are not very encouraging!
It will also be fundamental that the views, suggestions and opinions presented on the platform and by the citizens' panels should not be treated in an anecdotal way but seriously considered by the Conference.

It would also be desirable if there were no sectarianism in the consideration of citizens' opinions. All criticism should not be rejected on principle, as the Brussels Commission unfortunately too often does. If whole sections of our societies have distanced themselves not from the European idea, but from the European institutions, it is because the idea of a Brussels that only looks after the interests of the wealthy and the elite has developed.


We must show that we will listen to the people!

This unique opportunity to consult public opinion should not be considered as a gimmick: the expected results of the Conference, in spring 2022, should reflect the expectations of the European people, and not only the projections of the Institutions or the elites living in the European microcosm!

The work of the Conference should focus on two main questions: what kind of Europe do we want and what new common policies should Europe have?

On the first question, "What kind of Europe do we want?", I would like to refer to a famous quote from Jean Monnet, in his Memoirs, who said: "We are not uniting states, we are uniting people"..


This sentence is highly symbolic of the Founders' thinking, haunted as they were by the risk of a return of national egoisms. It is clear that, for almost thirty years, the construction of Europe has been slowly sliding towards a board of coalised states! One example is the growing number of meetings of the European Council, an institution that did not exist at the outset and which has become omnipresent in recent years. There have been 17 European Councils since the beginning of the COVID pandemic, 19 of which were devoted mainly or exclusively to this subject. At the time of its creation in 1974, which Jean Monnet had welcomed, three European Councils were to be held "to deepen political cooperation", then four according to the Treaty of "Lisbon", ... today there are more than ten Councils per year, often with agendas that go well beyond the impetus and definition of general political orientations and priorities as provided for in Article 15 of the Treaty...

If the European Councils were supposed to set the course, they have become the place where decisions are taken on practically everything, from budgetary decisions to group purchases of vaccines, from trade agreements with third countries to relations with authoritarian regimes in Turkey, Russia or China. Is it right
By multiplying the meetings of heads of state and government, where alliances and coalitions are formed and where national logics clash, that we are going to "unite women and men"? The European Council has thus become a board of coalised states!

On the contrary, we believe that, in order for the impetus to come more from the people, the European Parliament, which represents them through its Members, must exercise more clearly the political control functions assigned to it by the Treaty and must be more involved in initiating laws and action programmes.
We also believe that the European Citizens' Initiative (ECI) mechanism should be better framed and deepened in order to make it a permanent instrument to give the people the possibility to play a concrete role, alongside the Parliament, in giving impetus to the Union's actions.

Without giving the people the opportunity to participate in the European project, a kind of denial of democracy, we are in fact weakening the foundations of our Union! It is wrong to believe that only a well-informed elite can guide the European project. In French we rightly speak of "bon sens populaire"!

Uniting Women and Men

The Conference on the Future of Europe should be well aware that it is the projects that most directly affect the daily lives of Europeans, such as the ERASMUS student exchange programme, that have the greatest support among European citizens: Eurobarometer surveys show this to be true. These programmes are also unanimously supported by the political forces.

We believe that the issue of uniting women and men should once again become the Union's number one priority, by developing youth exchanges beyond students, towards secondary school students, apprentices, young job seekers, young people in difficulty, and senior citizens!
The EU could also reinvest in the abandoned field of twinning between European cities, neighbourhoods, associations, workers' or professionals' unions, traders' associations, etc. We have forgotten that Franco-German reconciliation was achieved just as much through visits by folk groups, brass bands and bowls associations as in the courtyard of the Elysée Palace!

Return to the Monnet method

On the second question of the Conference, "what new policies to pursue together", it should be recalled that the Community method, also known as the "Monnet method", has led Europe to its current successes, on the internal market or agricultural policy, whereas all the other methods that have been tried since then, from the purely intergovernmental to the mixed formulas and the "open method of coordination", have only met with mixed successes or patent failures.

Adapting the "Monnet method" to our times is feasible: it means 1° identifying a common good or a common challenge to be addressed together, 2° analysing well the ways and means to better succeed together in meeting the challenges and making the necessary transfers of sovereignty to the European level, 3° entrusting the implementation to an independent and competent team, under the control of the states and the citizens (through the Council of Ministers and the European Parliament). This independent and competent team should not be permanently confronted with national interests and political pressures, as is the case today.

Concrete achievements

A key idea of Monnet's, together with that of his famous method, was that of concrete achievements.

Finally, and above all, we must identify concrete achievements that will make citizens, especially those in rural areas and neighbourhoods in difficulty, feel more aware of what Europe can bring them, and we will thus be able to develop a European identity which, today, apart from a few privileged people such as ERASMUS students, only exists in a very diffuse manner among the majority of citizens.

Let's think about concrete topics related to current events!

Why not imagine today, for example, after the catastrophic fires that ravaged Greece this summer, the setting up by the summer of 2022 or 2023 of a real European civil protection corps against fires with its own command and resources (2000 women/men at least) with, in particular, a European naval air fleet? The current European coordination system is very inadequate and deficient. It took three days for the Italian Canadairs based in Pisa to reach Corsica on fire in 2018, 80 km away, and they arrived far too late to save houses, sheepfolds, herds and hundreds of hectares of beautiful Mediterranean forest! Indeed, the current system provides for consultation with national governments, the Brussels Commission and the Permanent Representations of the States! 3 days lost and teams unaccustomed to working together despite the rare joint exercises!

Almost 10 years ago, Michel Barnier had already made a proposal in this sense to the then President of the European Commission, José Manuel Barroso! The principle was also proposed in an opinion of the European Economic and Social Committee at the same time. The reports have remained in the wardrobe!

Faced with all these new challenges facing European societies, and in particular climate change and new health risks, the use of the Monnet method and concrete achievements will speak more to citizens than fine speeches on geopolitics or philosophy!

A modernised Monnet method, applied to areas that touch the lives of citizens and where it will be easy to demonstrate their effectiveness, will be able to coexist perfectly with the institutionalisation of the European Council to deal with more complex issues such as defence and foreign policy.

However, the question of the definition and scope of the "independent and competent team" will also have to be addressed, because over the years the European Commission has become much more politicised, numerous agencies have been created, mixing the Community and intergovernmental methods without much clarity, and the role of external consultants has increased considerably, with the risk of causing conflicts of interest. The result is great confusion for citizens and the impression that "an opaque and bureaucratic structure governs in Brussels".

The role of the lobbies present in Brussels, particularly those of the multinationals, is often and rightly denounced. The Conference on the Future of Europe must not divert attention from this real problem!
I have always protested, particularly in my capacity as President of the European civil society institution, the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC), against the dangers of bureaucratisation and an overly elitist Europe!


It is time to rediscover the roots of the European project, which lie in the support of the people for very simple ideas and very concrete achievements!

If the Conference on the Future of Europe addresses these points and sends us a draft, it will make a real contribution to the future of our Union. If it remains superficial, technical, nonsensical, legal and incomprehensible to the average person, it will be another "shot in the dark".


Jean Monnet, who had not been able to pass the baccalaureate and had left school at the age of 16, used to make his driver read out all the texts written by his collaborators for his European project. If the driver did not understand the meaning, he would ask him to rewrite them in a language that everyone could understand!


This is the path we want to follow in the Jean Monnet Association: to give back to the European project its popular dimension in order to build a United States of Europe!

YUST ACADEMY NEWSLETTER No. 8 September 2021

Back to top

L’union européenne doit redevenir populaire !

Henri Malosse

Actualité

8 septembre 2021


Il est réjouissant que les états Membres de l’UE aient convoqué une conférence sur le Futur de l’Europe qui a tenu sa première réunion plénière le 19 juin dernier, plus de vingt ans après la Convention sur l’avenir de l’Europe qui débouchât sur un futur Traité Constitutionnel, avorté comme on le sait suite aux
votes négatifs des citoyens néerlandais et français.
Mais la réalité est que depuis cet échec, l’UE ne cesse d’accumuler les votes négatifs, comme on l’a vu avec les référendums en Irlande, au Danemark, en Grèce ou aux Pays-Bas mais surtout avec le vote inattendu en faveur du BREXIT.
Le BREXIT marque le premier départ d’un état majeur dans la construction européenne, le Royaume-Uni, pays auquel Jean Monnet était très attaché au point qu’il avait été celui qui avait rédigé un projet de fusion avec la France lors de la débâcle de Juin 1940. Il avait fallu attendre le départ du Général De Gaulle de la scène politique française pour que le Royaume-Uni, réticent à toute idée de mise en commun des ressources européennes, se range finalement derrière la bannière étoilée de l’Europe. Jean Monnet s’en était publiquement réjouit !

Tirer les bons enseignements de nos échecs :

Le départ du Royaume-Uni, suite à un vote populaire, est un traumatisme dont on doit retenir les leçons. L’explication classique de Bruxelles sur les manipulations des opinions publiques en Angleterre par les populismes et une presse anti-européenne ne suffit pas à expliquer ce résultat. Il est d’ailleurs très troublant de constater que ce sont les classes laborieuses, les quartiers et cités les moins aisés qui ont voté pour sortir de l’UE, celles et ceux que justement Jean Monnet et Robert Schuman voulait mobiliser en faveur de la construction européenne qui leur apporterait la paix, la prospérité et le progrès social !

La leçon que nous tirons de ce fiasco est bien que l’éloignement des Institutions vis-à-vis des peuples, et notamment des personnes les plus modestes, est dramatique.

IL est donc essentiel d’abord que, lors de cette conférence sur le futur de l’Europe, on tire les bons et les vrais enseignements du BREXIT, pas ceux qui nous plaisent et nous arrangent !

Il nous faut donc retrouver la confiance des citoyens, et en particulier celle des milieux populaires.


Il est positif que les Membres du Comité Exécutif de la Conférence aient annoncé vouloir retenir avec la plus grande attention les opinions que les citoyens et la société civile exprimeront, au travers à la fois d’une plateforme ouverte aux suggestions de toutes/tous ainsi qu’au travers de panels citoyens.


Mais j’insiste sur le fait que les panels de citoyens doivent bien refléter toute la diversité des opinions des Européens et surtout ne pas se limiter aux seuls « usual suspects », anglophones et habitués des couloirs de Bruxelles et de Strasbourg. Les premières indications que nous en avons ne sont, à cet égard, pas très encourageantes !
Il sera fondamental aussi que les points de vue, suggestions et opinions présentées sur la plateforme et par les panels de citoyens ne devront pas être traitées de manière anecdotique mais être sérieusement étudiées par la Conférence.

Il serait également souhaitable qu’il n’y ait pas de sectarisme dans la prise en compte des opinions des citoyens. Toute critique ne doit pas être rejetée par principe, comme hélas la Commission de Bruxelles le fait trop souvent. Si des pans entiers de nos sociétés ont pris leurs distances vis-à-vis, non pas de l’idée européenne, mais des institutions européennes c’est que s’est développée l’idée d’un Bruxelles ne regardant que l’intérêt des nantis et des élites.


Il faut démontrer qu’on va écouter les peuples !

Cette opportunité unique de consulter les opinions publiques ne doit pas être considérée comme un gadget : les résultats attendus de la Conférence, au printemps 2022, devront refléter les attentes des peuples européens, et non pas seulement les projections des Institutions ou des élites qui vivent dans le microcosme européen !

Les travaux de la Conférence devraient se concentrer sur deux questions principales : quelle Europe voulons nous et de quelles nouvelles politiques communes l’Europe doit-elle se doter ?

Sur la première question « quelle Europe voulons nous ? », je voudrais ici me référer à une citation célèbre de Jean Monnet, dans ses Mémoires, qui dit : « nous ne coalisons pas des états, nous unissons des hommes ».


Cette phrase est hautement symbolique de la pensée des Fondateurs, hantés qu’ils étaient par le risque d’un retour des égoïsmes nationaux. Force est de constater que, depuis près d’une trentaine d’années, la construction européenne glisse doucement vers un directoire d’états coalisés ! On retiendra comme exemple le nombre croissant des réunions du Conseil européen, institution qui n’existait pas à l’origine, et qui est devenue ces dernières années omniprésente. On a connu ainsi 17 Conseils européens depuis le début de la pandémie du COVID 19 consacrés principalement ou exclusivement à ce sujet.. Au moment de sa création en 1974, que Jean Monnet avait d’ailleurs salué, trois Conseils européens devaient se tenir « pour approfondir la coopération politique » puis quatre selon le Traité de « Lisbonne », … aujourd’hui ce sont plus d’une dizaine de Conseils par an, avec souvent des ordres du jour qui vont bien au-delà des impulsions et définitions des orientations et priorités politiques générales comme prévu à l’article 15 du Traité…

Si les Conseils européens devaient fixer le cap, ils sont devenus le lieu de décisions sur pratiquement tous les sujets, des décisions budgétaires aux achats groupés de vaccins, des accords commerciaux avec des pays Tiers aux relations avec les régimes autoritaires de la Turquie, de la Russie ou de la Chine. Est-ce bien
en multipliant les réunions de chefs d’états et de gouvernements, où se constituent des alliances et des coalitions et où s’affrontent des logiques nationales, que l’on va « unir les femmes et les hommes » ? Le Conseil européen est donc bien devenu un directoire d’états coalisés !

Nous pensons au contraire que, pour que l’impulsion puisse venir davantage des peuples, le Parlement européen, qui les représente à travers ses députés, doit exercer plus clairement les fonctions de contrôle politique que lui assigne le Traité et doit être davantage associé à l’initiative des lois et des programmes d’actions.
Nous pensons aussi qu’il conviendrait de mieux encadrer et d’approfondir le mécanisme des Initiatives Citoyennes Européennes (ICE) afin d’en faire un instrument permanent pour donner aux peuples la possibilité de jouer un rôle concret, aux côtés du Parlement, pour donner une impulsion aux actions de l’Union.

Sans donner la possibilité aux peuples de participer au projet européen, une sorte de déni de démocratie, on affaiblit en fait les fondements de notre Union ! Il est faux de croire que seule une élite bien informée peut guider le projet européen . En français on parle à juste titre du « bon sens populaire » !

Unir les femmes et les Hommes

La Conférence sur le futur de l’Europe devrait être bien consciente que ce sont les projets qui touchent le plus directement au quotidien des européens, comme le programme d’échange d’étudiants ERASMUS qui recueillent le plus d’adhésion parmi les citoyens européens : les sondages d’Eurobaromètre le démontrent excellement. Ces programmes font aussi l’unanimité des forces politiques.

Nous pensons que la question d’unir les femmes et les hommes devrait redevenir la priorité numéro 1 de l’Union , en développant les échanges de jeunes au-delà des seuls étudiants, vers les collégiens et lycéens, les apprentis, les jeunes demandeurs d’emplois, les jeunes en difficulté, les séniors !
L’UE pourrait aussi réinvestir le champs abandonné des jumelages entre villes européennes, quartiers, associations, syndicats ouvriers ou professionnels, associations de commerçants.. On a oublié que la réconciliation franco-allemande s’est faite tout autant par des visites de groupes folkloriques, fanfares et associations de joueurs de boules que dans la cour de l’Elysée !

Revenir à la méthode Monnet

Sur la deuxième question de la Conférence, « quelles nouvelles politiques à mener ensemble », il faudrait rappeler que la méthode communautaire, appelée aussi « méthode Monnet », a mené l’Europe à ses succès d’aujourd’hui, sur le marché intérieur ou la politique agricole, alors que toutes les autres méthodes qui ont été essayé depuis, de l’intergouvernemental pur aux formules mixtes en passant par la « méthode ouverte de coordination » n’ont connu que des succès mitigés ou des échecs patentés.

Adapter à notre époque la « méthode Monnet », est réalisable : cela veut dire 1° identifier un bien commun ou un défi commun à traiter ensemble, 2° bien analyser les voies et moyens pour mieux réussir ensemble à relever les défis et réaliser les transferts de souveraineté nécessaires vers le niveau européen 3° confier la mise en œuvre à une équipe indépendante et compétente, sous le contrôle des états et des citoyens (au travers du Conseil des Ministres et du Parlement européen). Cette équipe indépendante et compétente ne devrait pas être confrontée en permanence aux intérêts nationaux et des pressions politiques, comme c’est bien trop le cas aujourd’hui.

Des réalisations concrètes

Une idée clé de Monnet, associée à celle de sa fameuse méthode, était celle des réalisations concrètes.

Il nous faut enfin et surtout identifier les réalisations concrètes qui feront que les citoyens, notamment ceux des zones rurales et des quartiers en difficulté ressentent mieux ce que l’Europe peut leur apporter et nous pourrons ainsi développer une identité européenne qui, aujourd’hui, à part pour quelques privilégiés comme les étudiants ERASMUS, n’existe que de manière très diffuse chez une majorité de citoyens.

Pensons à des sujets concrets liés à l’actualité !

Pourquoi pas imaginer aujourd’hui, par exemple, après les incendies catastrophiques qui ont ravagé la Grèce cet été, la mise sur pied pour l’été 2022 ou 2023 d’un vrai corps européen de protection civile contre les incendies doté d’un commandement et de moyens propres (2000 femmes/hommes au minimum) avec notamment une flotte européenne aéronavale ? Le système de coordination européenne actuelle est très insuffisant et bien déficient. Il a fallu 3 jours aux Canadairs italiens basés à Pisa pour rejoindre la Corse en feu en 2018, distante de 80 kms, et arriver bien trop tard pour sauver des maisons, des bergeries, des troupeaux et des centaines d’hectares de belle forêt méditerranéenne ! En effet, le dispositif actuel prévoit une consultation des gouvernements nationaux, de la Commission de Bruxelles, des Représentations Permanentes des états ! 3 jours de perdus et des équipes peu habituées au travail en commun malgré de bien rares exercices en commun !

Déjà il y a près de 10 ans Michel Barnier avait déjà fait une proposition en ce sens au Président de la Commission européenne de l’époque José Manuel Barroso ! Le principe en avait été proposé aussi dans un avis du Comité Economique et Social Européen à la même période. Les rapports sont restés au placard!

Face à tous ces nouveaux défis qui traversent les sociétés européennes, et notamment le changement climatique et les nouveaux risques sanitaires, le recours à la méthode Monnet et aux réalisations concrètes parleront davantage aux citoyens que de beaux discours de géopolitique ou de philosophie !

Une méthode Monnet modernisée, appliquée à des domaines qui touchent à la vie des citoyens et pour lesquels il sera facile de démontrer leur efficacité, pourra parfaitement coexister avec l’institutionnalisation du Conseil européen pour traiter de questions plus complexes comme la défense et la politique étrangère.

Il restera cependant aussi à se poser la question de la définition et du périmètre de « l’ équipe indépendante et compétente » car au fil des ans la Commission européenne s’est beaucoup politisée, de très nombreuses agences ont vu le jour mêlant méthode communautaire et intergouvernementale sans beaucoup de clarté et le rôle des consultants extérieurs s’est considérablement accru avec le risque d’entraîner des conflits d’intérêts. Le résultat en est une grande confusion pour les citoyens et l’impression « qu’une structure opaque et bureaucratique gouverne à Bruxelles ».

Le rôle des lobbies présents à Bruxelles, notamment ceux des Multinationales est souvent et à juste titre dénoncé. La Conférence sur le futur de l’Europe ne devra pas détourner les yeux de ce problème réel !
Je me suis toujours insurgé, notamment dans mes fonctions de Président de l’Institution européenne de la société civile, le Comité Economique et Social Européen (CESE) devant les dangers de la bureaucratisation et d’une Europe trop élitiste !


Il est temps de retrouver les racines du projet européen qui se trouvent dans l’adhésion des peuples à des idées très simples et à des réalisations très concrètes !

Si la Conférence sur le futur de l’Europe aborde ces points et nous transmets un projet en ce sens, elle apportera une vraie contribution à l’avenir de notre Union. Si elle reste superficielle, technique, sotérique, juridique et incompréhensible au commun des mortels, elle sera un nouveau « coup d’épée dans l’eau ».


Jean Monnet, qui n’avait pas pu passer le baccalauréat et avait quitté l’école à 16 ans, avait l’habitude de faire lire à son chauffeur tous les textes écrits par ses collaborateurs pour son projet européen. Si le chauffeur n’en comprenait pas le sens, il demandait de les réécrire dans une langue intelligible par tous!


C’est la voie que nous voulons suivre désormais à l’Association Jean Monnet : redonner au projet européen sa dimension populaire pour bâtir des Etats Unis d’Europe !

NEWSLETTER DE L’ACADÉMIE YUSTE Nº 8 Septembre 2021

Back to top