Civil protection, the new frontier of European integration

Henri Malosse

News

14 April 2022


The striking image of thousands, tens of thousands, millions of Ukrainian refugees, mainly women, children and elderly people, crowding the borders of Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania and Moldova in March 2022 had a certain déjà vu quality to it! Deja vu of films and newsreels from the Second World War, but also from the wars in Yugoslavia in the 1990s and more recently in Iraq, Afghanistan, Syria or Yemen.

All these horrors are upsetting to us. But they are all the more disturbing when they involve the territory of the European continent and more precisely the borders of the European Union. We have all been struck by the extraordinary outpouring of solidarity from the citizens of Europe, particularly from Ukraine's neighbouring countries. But, at the beginning at least, this great exile of refugees fleeing the horrors of war took place in a certain confusion, putting all the weight on the authorities, associations and citizens of Poland, Slovakia, Hungary and Romania. The European Union was largely absent, apart from the emergency aid that did not arrive immediately.

The absence of a European civil protection corps capable of immediate intervention was felt. It could have acted where national authorities and individual initiatives were slow to react.

The idea of a European civil protection corps is an old sea snake that the President of the European Commission, José Manuel Barroso, already had in mind fifteen years ago when he entrusted Michel Barnier with a report on the subject. At the same time, the European Economic and Social Committee, in an own-initiative opinion, already recommended it as one of the means of strengthening the feeling of belonging to the European Community for the citizens of the Union.

Since autumn 2021, the Jean Monnet Association has taken up the torch of a European initiative for the creation of a European civil protection corps. We, who are the heirs of the ideas of the founding father of today's Europe, Jean Monnet, believe that it is through concrete achievements that will improve the daily life of European citizens that we will be able to progress, step by step, towards a United States of Europe!

Before the tragic events in Eastern Europe awakened our fears and our consciences, we also had in mind the issue of natural disasters, forest fires and floods, which, unfortunately, are multiplying year after year with climate change

On the subject of forest fires, the Jean Monnet Association has noted that no Member State has sufficient airborne resources to fight several fires simultaneously on its territory. It is therefore necessary to call on other European neighbours, as Greece, Portugal and also France have recently done. But what a waste of time! There is a European cooperation mechanism, but it never intervenes before 36 hours at least, which is generally late when lives, homes, beautiful forests and landscapes are at risk! The fleets of specialised aircraft are ageing and Europe could also launch an investment programme to renew them.



This is why, through its commitment to this project, the Jean Monnet Association wants to bring together civil protection actors, European parliamentarians and representatives of other European institutions, industry and associations to draw up a "roadmap" for moving towards European civil protection corps to respond together in a more effective and more united way to the major challenges we are facing, in particular wars and the consequences of global warming,

Composed of existing teams in our states and regions, but supplemented by European volunteers and professionals, with equipment purchased by the EU, rapid intervention teams could be positioned in strategic locations for rapid intervention,

Thus the AJM humbly but decisively takes up the torch of the great Jean Monnet who said to the great Robert Schuman in his declaration to the French Parliament on 9 May 1950 that : Europe will not be built all at once, nor will it be built as a whole: it will be built through concrete achievements that first create a de facto solidarity. Each and every one of us can make a contribution to an edifice that will not be built in a day. Our Association wants to be at the heart of this revival of Europe through concrete action.

Back to top

La protection civile, nouvelle frontière de l’intégration européenne

Henri Malosse

Actualité

14 avril 2022


L’image saisissante de milliers, dizaines de milliers, millions de réfugiés ukrainiens, essentiellement des femmes, des enfants et des personnes âgées se pressant aux frontières de la Pologne, de la Slovaquie, de la Hongrie, de la Roumanie et de la Moldavie en ce mois de mars 2022 avaient un je ne sais quoi de déjà vu ! Déjà vu des films et images d’actualités de la deuxième guerre mondiale, mais aussi des guerres en Yougoslavie dans les années 1990 et plus récemment en Irak, en Afghanistan, en Syrie ou au Yémen.

Toutes ces horreurs nous bouleversent. Mais elles nous engagent d’autant plus quand il s’agit du territoire du continent européen et plus précisément de frontières de l’Union européenne. Nous avons tous été frappés par l’extraordinaire élan de solidarité des citoyens européens, notamment des Pays voisins de l’Ukraine. Mais, au début en tous les cas, ce grand exil de réfugiés fuyant les horreurs de la guerre s’est passé dans une certaine confusion, en faisant peser tout le poids sur les autorités, associations et citoyens de Pologne, de Slovaquie, de Hongrie et de Roumanie. L’Union européenne a été largement absente en dehors des aides d’urgence qui ne sont pas arrivées tout de suite.

L’absence d’un corps européen de protection civile capable d’intervenir immédiatement s’est fait sentir. Il aurait pu agir là où les autorités nationales et initiatives individuelles tardaient à réagir.

L’idée d’un corps européen de protection civile est un vieux serpent de mer que déjà, il y a quinze ans, le Président de la Commission européen José-manuel Barroso avait en tête en confiant un rapport sur le sujet à Michel Barnier. Dans le même temps, le Comité Economique et Social Européen, dans un avis d’initiative, le préconisait déjà comme un des moyens de renforcer le sentiment d’appartenance à la Communauté européenne pour les citoyens de l’Union.

Depuis l’automne 2021, l’Association Jean Monnet a repris le flambeau d’une initiative européenne pour la création d’un corps européen de protection civile . Nous, qui sommes les héritiers des idées du Père fondateur de l’Europe d’aujourd’hui, Jean Monnet, nous croyons que c’est par des réalisations concrètes qui vont améliorer au quotidien la vie des citoyens européens, qu’on pourra progresser, par étapes, vers les Etats Unis d’Europe !

Avant que l’actualité tragique à l’Est de l’Europe ne vienne réveiller nos peurs et nos consciences, nous avions aussi en tête la question des catastrophes naturelles, feux de forêts et inondations, qui, malheureusement, d’années en années, se multiplient avec le changement climatique

Sur le sujet des feux de forêts, l’Association jean Monnet, a notamment constaté qu’aucun Etat Membre, ne dispose de suffisamment de moyens aériens pour combattre plusieurs incendies en même temps sur son sol. Il faut alors faire appel aux autres voisins européens, comme l’ont fait récemment la Grèce, le Portugal et aussi la France. Mais que de temps perdu !  Il existe bien un mécanisme de coopération européen, mais il n’intervient jamais avant 36 heures au minimum ce qui est généralement  tard quand des vies, des habitations, de belles forêts et des paysages magnifiques sont en danger ! Les flottes des avions spécialisés sont vieillissantes et l’Europe pourrait aussi se lancer dans un programme d’investissement pour les renouveler.



C’est la raison pour laquelle , l’Association jean Monnet veut, par son engagement sur ce projet, réunir des acteurs de la protection civile, des parlementaires européens et des représentants des autres Institutions européennes, de l’industrie ainsi que des mouvements associatifs pour établir une « feuille de route » pour aller vers des corps européens de protection civile pour répondre ensemble de façon plus efficace et plus solidaire aux grands défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés, les guerres et les conséquences du réchauffement climatique notamment,

Composées à partir des équipes existantes dans nos états et nos régions, mais complétées par des volontaires et professionnels européens, dotées de matériel acheté par l’UE, des équipes d’intervention rapide pourraient être ainsi positionnées aux endroits stratégiques pour des interventions rapides,

Ainsi l’AJM reprend avec humilité mais détermination, le flambeau du grand Jean Monnet qui faisait dire au grand Robert Schuman dans la déclaration au Parlement français du 9 mai 1950 que : L’Europe ne se fera pas d’un coup, ni dans une construction d’ensemble : elle se fera par des réalisations concrètes créant d’abord une solidarité de fait. Chacune et chacun peut apporter sa pierre à un édifice qui ne se fera pas en un jour, notre Association veut être au cœur de cette relance de l’Europe par le concret.

Back to top