Commemorations of the Franco-German reconciliation

Henri Malosse

History

14 July 2022


Speech by Henri Malosse

8 July 2022 - Reims - Lycée Roosevelt

On the occasion of the commemorations of the Franco-German reconciliation, sealed on 8 July 1962 by General de Gaulle and Konrad Adenauer in a solemn mass in Reims Cathedral, Henri Malosse was invited in the presence of Mgr De Moulins-Beaufort, Archbishop of Reims, Jean-Pierre Raffarin, former Prime Minister, Pierre Vimont, former French Ambassador, Catherine Vautrin, President of Greater Reims, Arnaud Robinet, Mayor of Reims, Guillaume Martin, Professor at Sciences-Po, Dimitri Oudin, City Councillor in charge of Twinning and International Relations (Reims and Greater Reims)...

 

  1. The spiritual significance of 8 July 1962 and Reims Cathedral

This date, 8 July 1962, is closely linked to the history of Reims Cathedral, which has marked the history of France and Europe for more than 1500 years!

The cathedral in Reims is dedicated to the Virgin Mary, as is the island of Corsica where I come from! For us, the Virgin, a figure of femininity, is a symbol of peace and gentleness,

The history of Reims Cathedral is intertwined with that of France, since the baptism of Clovis at the end of the 5th century, when 31 kings of France were crowned here. Twice burnt down in the Middle Ages, rebuilt, vandalised under the terror during the French revolution, devastated during the First World War and patiently rebuilt to its present splendour! (Note the 3 stained glass windows made in 1974 by the painter Marc Chagall, born in Vitebsk, Belarus)

But the history of Reims Cathedral is also symbolic of the history of Europe, since it was devastated during the First World War and it was in Reims on 7 May 1945 that the Nazi army capitulated. It is therefore not by chance that Reims Cathedral, the cradle of eternal France, was chosen by General de Gaulle and German Chancellor Konrad Adenauer, two fervent Catholics, to seal the reconciliation between the French and German peoples in a solemn mass on 8 July 1962, which we are commemorating today.

They undoubtedly wanted to anchor this reconciliation deeply in the history of France and the history of Europe, to link it to our common roots, to our Christian roots! The cathedral of Reims gives this reconciliation the extra soul that Europe needs so much today.

Today we must also remember the visit of Pope John Paul II, the Polish Pope, in August 1996, commemorating the 1500th anniversary of the baptism of Clovis. The Pope who told the European Parliament that Europe must "breathe through its two lungs, the Western and the Eastern".

A true reconciliation between two nations cannot only be a matter of a single currency or a market, but must have a spiritual dimension

  1. Jean Monnet and the Franco-German reconciliation

The figure of General de Gaulle is often contrasted with that of Jean Monnet, the inspiration for today's Europe. But this is to forget that the two men, if they had a different vision of the organisation of Europe, did not share at least the essential part of it, i.e. a vision of reconciliation and peace.

Let us not forget that it was at the home of Jean Monnet and his wife Silvia in London, on 17 June 1940, that General de Gaulle came to dine, before pronouncing the appeal of 18 June. Mutual respect has always marked their relationship.

In 1940, in the face of danger, Jean Monnet proclaimed the need for total union. He wrote in his Memoirs: "When peoples are threatened by the same danger, the various interests which contribute to their destiny cannot be treated separately.

In Robert Schuman's declaration to the French National Assembly on 9 May 1950, a speech that was the foundation of today's Europe and inspired by Jean Monnet, we find the following sentences

"Europe will not be built all at once, nor in an overall construction, it will be built by concrete achievements creating first of all de facto solidarities. The gathering of European nations requires that the age-old opposition between France and Germany be eliminated. The action undertaken must first and foremost affect France and Germany.

The link with the need for Franco-German reconciliation is there in these essential sentences!

The Jean Monnet Association (along with a Foundation and an Institute) is working to bring Jean Monnet's ideas to life in the present, and in particular the quest for those "concrete achievements" that will anchor the construction of Europe in people's hearts. Thus, we are going to launch a project to set up integrated European civil protection teams, which will be just as useful in the face of climatic threats (forest fires, floods) as in overcoming the consequences and traumas of war (refugees, destruction, etc.)

  1. Where do we stand today with Franco-German reconciliation?

From the Franco-German reconciliation sealed in Reims in 1962, I remember above all the concrete achievements that the Elysée Treaty would bring a few months later: the youth exchanges of the Franco-German Office, the innumerable twinnings between towns and villages, the economic contacts between consular chambers, the proliferation of initiatives from civil society

I myself am, in a way, the "product" of this, the son of a German teacher, involved in twinning at a very young age, having done part of my studies in Germany, even though I come from small towns in the South of France!

When I look at the state of Franco-German relations today, without going into the political and diplomatic areas that my two friends, Jean-Pierre Raffarin and Pierre Vimont, know much better than I do, I can only note a certain disintegration. I have seen this over the last forty years in Brussels at the level of the economic and social leaders I have known. The initial enthusiasm has often faded. German is taught less and less in France, just like French in Germany, and many twinning arrangements are going round in circles (not the one between Reims and Aachen!). There is a real danger here because a reconciliation must be, like a plant, cherished over the days, otherwise it will gradually die out. Reconciliations are not eternal if we are not careful!

  1. The need for East-West reconciliation in Europe

We are gathered here to talk about reconciliation while the noise of arms can be heard just over a thousand kilometres from Reims. In fact, with the crisis in the Balkans and, since 2014, in Ukraine, the clash of arms had never completely disappeared from Europe. However, many people woke up as if "stunned" on 24 February 2022!

We at the Jean Monnet Association are very proud to have launched a "Kiev Appeal" on 24 February 2022, the date of the Russian invasion, to demand that Ukraine be granted candidate status in the European Union as soon as possible. At first, our appeal was met with much scepticism in Western chancelleries and also in Brussels. Today, we are delighted with this exceptional step forward, which was endorsed by the European Council on 23/24 June

Indeed, I consider that Ukrainians belong, like all European people, to one and the same family. This will not, of course, exempt Ukraine from complying with the rights and duties to which all candidate states must conform, but the signal given by the EU is historic. This hand extended to an aggressed and oppressed people is also a gesture towards the Russian people, who, when the day comes, will also be able to see their hand extended if they choose the path of peace and our common European values. Indeed, the European project is neither reserved for those in the West, nor for the wealthy alone! This is also the message of reconciliation of Reims, that of General de Gaulle who spoke of Europe from Brest to Vladivostok and that of Jean Monnet, a man who was an advisor to the Polish government between the wars and who did not hesitate to get married in Moscow.

Reconciliation in Europe cannot stop at the two peoples of Germany and France. What has been done between us has unfortunately not been done between Eastern and Central Europe and Western Europe: too few twinnings, too few exchanges between young people, too little real dialogue and listening! Even if it seems to have been bridged today in the face of the aggressor, the "gap" between these "two Europes" remains today! We must learn to make Europe "breathe through its two lungs", as John Paul II said!

Beyond that, a new wall lies ahead! After the fall of the Iron Curtain, between the Russians on one side and the Poles and Balts on the other, almost nothing was done to erase resentments, preconceived ideas and hatreds, which are unfortunately and naturally worsening today.

Is it too early to speak of Russian-Ukrainian reconciliation? As early as 1940, great minds such as Jean Monnet and certainly also General De Gaulle saw well beyond the victories of some and the defeats and capitulations of others, that a new world should take shape!

Reconciliations can indeed be the seal of peace between peoples!

They need both symbols, as the city of Reims and its cathedral have become today, but also small concrete achievements that will build, step by step, tomorrow's peace in Europe, not peace for peace's sake, but a true reconciliation in order to, by going back to our history, regain confidence in order to build a Europe!

A symbolic and ecumenical initiative of spiritual meetings between Christians from the East and West and beyond, in Reims with its cathedral as a symbol, could be a signal and a strong time to launch a call to union for a reconciliation of souls and hearts

Small concrete achievements, such as the planned twinning between the city of Reims and the city of Chernihiv in Ukraine, as well as an extension of the one that already links Reims to Aachen, will be a small stone in the edifice that we could build.

Let me end with a quote from our magnificent poet Charles Péguy, speaking of cathedrals:

 "3 stone cutters are working on a building site. Someone passes by and asks them what they are doing:

  • I cut stones, sighs the first
  • I'm building a wall," replies the second
  • I am building a cathedral," exclaims the third.

So it is up to us to humbly cut the stone to build walls that do not separate us but that will one day become a cathedral!

Back to top

Commémorations de la réconciliation franco-allemande

Henri Malosse

Histoire

14 juillet 2022


Discours d'Henri Malosse

Le 8 juillet 2022 – Reims – Lycée Roosevelt

A l’occasion des commémorations de la réconciliation franco-allemande, scellée le 8 juillet 1962 par le Général de Gaulle et Konrad Adenauer par une messe solennelle en la Cathédrale de Reims, Henri Malosse était invité en présence notamment de Mgr De Moulins-Beaufort, Archevêque de Reims,  Jean-Pierre Raffarin, ancien Premier Ministre, Pierre Vimont, ancien Ambassadeur de France, Catherine Vautrin, Présidente du Grand Reims, Arnaud Robinet, maire de Reims, Guillaume Martin, professeur à Sciences-Po, Dimitri Oudin, Conseiller Municipal en charge des Jumelages et des relations internationales (Reims et grand Reims) …

 

  1. La signification spirituelle du 8 juillet 1962 et la Cathédrale de Reims

Cette date du 8 juillet 1962 est intimement liée à l’histoire de la cathédrale de Reims qui, depuis plus de 1500 ans, marque l’histoire de France et de l’Europe !

La cathédrale de Reims, est consacrée à la Vierge Marie, comme l’île de Corse d’où je viens ! Chez nous, la Vierge, figure de féminité, est un symbole de paix et de douceur,

L’histoire de la cathédrale de Reims se confond avec celle de la France, depuis le baptême de Clovis à la fin du Vème siècle puisque 31 rois de France y furent couronnés. Deux fois incendiée au moyen-âge, reconstruite, vandalisée sous la terreur pendant la révolution française, dévastée pendant la première guerre mondiale et reconstruite patiemment jusqu’à retrouver sa splendeur aujourdhui ! (Notons ainsi au passage les 3 vitraux réalisés en 1974 par le peintre Marc Chagall, né à Vitebsk en Biélorussie)

Mais l’histoire de la Cathédrale de Reims est aussi symbolique de l’histoire de l’Europe, puisqu’elle fut dévastée pendant la première guerre mondiale et que c’est à Reims le 7 mai 1945 que l’armée nazie capitula. Ce n’est donc pas par hasard que la cathédrale de Reims, berceau de la France éternelle, elle fut choisie par le Général de Gaulle et le chancelier allemand Konrad Adenauer, deux fervents catholiques, pour sceller la réconciliation entre les peuples français et allemands en une messe solennelle le 8 juillet 1962 que nous commémorons aujourd’hui

Ils ont voulu sans doute ancrer profondément cette réconciliation dans l’Histoire de France et l’histoire de l’Europe, la relier à nos racines communes, à nos racines chrétiennes ! La cathédrale de Reims donne à cette réconciliation le supplément d’âme dont l’Europe aujourd’hui aurait tant besoin.

Nous devons aujourd’hui aussi nous souvenir de la visite du Pape Jean-Paul II, le pape polonais, en août 1996, commémorant les 1500 ans du baptême de Clovis. Ce pape qui déclara au Parlement européen que l’Europe doit « respirer par ses deux poumons, celui de l’Ouest et celui de l’Est »

Une vraie réconciliation entre deux nations ne peut être seulement affaire de monnaie unique ou de marché, mais doit avoir une dimension spirituelle

  1. Jean Monnet et la réconciliation franco-allemande

On oppose souvent la figure du Général de Gaulle à celle de Jean Monnet, l’inspirateur de la l’Europe d’aujourd’hui. Mais c’est oublier que les deux hommes, s’ils avaient une vision différente de l’organisation de l’Europe, n’en partageaient pas tout au moins l’essentiel, c’est-à-dire une vision de réconciliation et de paix.

N’oublions pas que c’est chez Jean Monnet et son épouse Silvia à Londres, le 17 juin 1940, qu’est venu dîner le général de gaulle, avant de prononcer l’appel du 18 Juin. Le respect mutuel a toujours marqué leurs relations.

En 1940, face au péril, Jean Monnet, a proclamé la nécessité de l’Union totale.  Il écrit dans ses Mémoires «  Quand les peuples sont menacés par un même danger, on ne  traite pas séparément les divers intérêts qui concourent à leurs destins.

Dans la déclaration de Robert Schuman devant l’Assemblée nationale française le 9 mai 1950, discours fondateur de l’Europe d’aujourd’hui et inspiré par Jean Monnet, on trouve ainsi les phrases suivantes :

«  l’Europe ne se fera pas d’un coup, ni dans une construction d’ensemble, elle se fera par des réalisations concrètes créant d’abord es solidarités de fait . Le rassemblement des Nations européennes exige que l’opposition séculaire de la France et de l’Allemagne soit éliminée. L’action entreprise doit toucher au premier chef la France et l’Allemagne »

Le lien avec la nécessité de la réconciliation franco-allemande est bien là  dans ces phrases essentielles !

L’Association Jean Monnet, (aux cotés d’une Fondation et d’un institut) œuvre ainsi à faire vivre au présent les idées de Jean Monnet, et notamment la quête de ces « réalisations concrètes » qui vont ancrer la construction européenne dans le cœur des gens. C’est ainsi que nous allons lancer un projet pour constituer des équipes européennes intégrées de protection civile, autant utiles face aux menaces climatiques (feux de forêts, inondations) que pour surmonter les conséquences et traumatismes de la guerre (réfugiés, destructions..)

  1. La réconciliation franco-allemande, où en est-on aujourd’hui ?

De la réconciliation franco-allemande scellée à Reims en 1962, je retiens surtout les réalisations concrètes que quelques mois plus tard, le Traité de l’Elysée va apporter : les échanges de jeunes de l’Office franco-allemand, les jumelages innombrables entre villes et villages, les contacts économiques entre chambres consulaires, le foisonnement des initiatives de la société civile.

J’en suis, moi-même, d’une certaine manière le « produit » , fils de professeur d’allemand, engagé très jeune dans des jumelages, ayant fait une partie de mes études en Allemagne, bien que venant de petites villes du Sud de la France !

Quand je regarde aujourd’hui l’état des relations franco-allemandes, sans entrer dans les domaines politiques et diplomatiques que mes deux amis, Jean-Pierre Raffarin et Pierre Vimont, connaissent bien mieux que moi, je ne peux que constater malheureusement un certain délitement. Je l’ai constaté au cours des quarante dernières années à Bruxelles au niveau des responsables économiques et sociaux que j’ai fréquenté. L’enthousiasme du début s’est estompé souvent. L’Allemand est de moins en moins enseigné en France, tout comme le français en Allemagne et beaucoup de  jumelages tournent en rond (Pas celui entre Reims et Aachen !) . Il y a là un vrai danger car une réconciliation doit être, comme une plante, choyée au fil des jours, sinon elle s’éteint peu à peu. Les réconciliations ne sont pas éternelles si on n’y prend pas garde !

  1. La nécessité d’une réconciliation Est-Ouest en Europe

Nous sommes réunis ici pour parler de réconciliation alors que le bruit des armes se fait entendre à à peine plus de mille kilomètres de Reims. En fait avec la crise des Balkans et depuis 2014 celle d’Ukraine, le fracas des armes n’avait jamais totalement disparu de l’Europe. Pourtant beaucoup se sont réveillés comme « sonnés » le 24 février 2022 !

Nous sommes très fiers, à l’Association Jean Monnet », à avoir lancé dès le 24 février 2022, date de l’invasion russe, un « Appel de Kiev » pour réclamer que l’Ukraine obtienne au plus tôt le statut de pays candidat à l’Union européenne. Au début, notre appel a suscité beaucoup de scepticisme dans les chancelleries occidentales et aussi à Bruxelles. Aujourd’hui nous nous réjouissons de cette avancée exceptionnelle entérinée par le Conseil européen des 23/24 juin derniers

Je considère en effet que les Ukrainiens appartiennent, comme tout peuple européen, à une seule et même famille. Ceci n’exonérera pas, bien entendu, l’Ukraine, de se conformer aux droits et aux devoirs auquel tout état candidat doit se conformer, mais le signal donné par l’UE est historique. Cette main tendue vers un peuple agressé et opprimé est aussi un geste vers le peuple russe, qui le jour venu, pourra aussi se voir tendre la main s’il choisit la voie de la paix et de nos valeurs européennes communes. En effet le projet européen n’est ni réservé à ceux de l’Ouest, ni aux seuls nantis ! C’est cela aussi le message de réconciliation de Reims, celui du Général de Gaulle qui parlait de l’Europe de Brest à Vladivostok et celui de Jean Monnet, homme qui fut conseiller du gouvernement polonais dans l’entre deux guerres et qui n’hésita pas à se marier à Moscou.

La réconciliation en Europe ne peut s’arrêter en effet aux deux peuples allemand et français. Ce qui a été fait entre nous, n’a malheureusement pas été fait entre l’Europe orientale et centrale et l’Europe occidentale : trop peu de jumelages, trop peu d’échanges entre jeunes, trop peu de de vrais dialogues et d’écoutes ! Même s’il parait comblé aujourd’hui face à l’agresseur, le fossé » entre ces « deux Europe » demeure aujourd’hui ! Il nous faut apprendre à faire « respirer l’Europe par ses deux poumons » , comme le disait Jean Paul II !

Au-delà, un nouveau mur est devant nous ! Après la chute du rideau de fer, en effet, entre Russes d’un côté, Polonais et baltes de l’autre, presque rien n’a été fait pour effacer les ressentiments, les idées reçues et des haines, qui s‘aggravent hélas et  naturellement aujourd’hui.

Est-il trop tôt de parler de réconciliation russo-ukrainienne ? Dès 1940, les grands esprits comme Jean Monnet et sûrement aussi le Général De gaulle voyaient bien au-delà des victoires des uns et des défaites et capitulations des autres, que devrait se dessiner un monde nouveau !

Les réconciliations peuvent être en effet le sceau de la paix entre les peuples !

Elles ont besoin à la fois de symboles comme l’est devenue aujourdhui la ville de Reims et sa cathédrale, mais aussi de petites réalisations concrètes qui vont construire, pas à pas, la paix de demain en Europe, non pas une paix pour la paix, mais une vraie réconciliation pour, en replongeant dans notre histoire , retrouver la confiance pour bâtir une Europe !

Une initiative symbolique et œcuménique de rencontres spirituelles, entre chrétiens de l’Est et de l’Ouest et au-delà, à Reims avec sa cathédrale comme symbole, pourrait être ainsi un signal et un temps fort pour lancer un appel à l’union pour une réconciliation des âmes et des cœurs

Des petites réalisations concrètes, comme ce jumelage envisagé entre la ville de Reims et celle de Tchernihiv en Ukraine, comme un élargissement de celui qui lie déjà Reims à Aix-la-Chapelle sera  ainsi une petite pierre de l’édifice que nous pourrions bâtir.

Laissez-moi terminer par une citation de notre magnifique poète Charles Péguy, parlant des cathédrales :

 « 3 tailleurs de pierre travaillent sur un chantier . Quelqu’un passant par-là, leur demande ce qu’ils font :

  • Je taille des pierres , soupire le premier
  • Je construis un mur, répond le second
  • Je bâtis une cathédrale, s’exclame le troisième »

A nous donc de tailler la pierre humblement pour construire des murs qui ne nous séparent pas mais  qui deviendront un jour cathédrale !

Back to top