Tribute to Jacques Delors

Our bodies

27 March 2024


by AJM members

Tribute to Jacques Delors

par Bruno Vever

Tribute

Jacques Delors summed up his entire European approach in a single phrase: "competition that stimulates, cooperation that strengthens, solidarity that unites".
Three memories come back to me of this perfect coherence at the heart of his actions.

Competition that stimulates

In 1981, when François Mitterrand attempted an economic policy that went against the grain of all our European partners, I had been a young permanent delegate of the CNPF for two years, representing our companies in Brussels, which had been neglected until then and had overnight become the last bastion of our freedoms. The nationalisation of major companies and banks went hand in hand with the imposition of oppressive exchange controls. Faced with the inevitable deterioration in foreign trade, the government attempted to "reconquer the internal market" in opposition to the common market and the EMS. Its illusory sirens disturbed and fractured the unity of our members.

Faced with these internal divisions, I decided, despite the pressure and the risks, to play the European card to the hilt and support the Commission in all its counter-fires. This made me an objective ally of Jacques Delors, a realist who was himself trying, as Finance Minister, to limit the excesses and damage. At the end of two perilous years, François-Xavier Ortoli, Vice-President of the Commission, told me that our resistance had paid off: "I saw Delors yesterday, France is coming to its senses and we are going to help the prodigal son return". To this end, Delors had put his resignation on the line, convinced that no progress is sustainable without competition.

Cooperation that strengthens

When Jacques Delors became President-designate of the European Commission in 1984, he escaped from his Clichy town hall to make more contacts. Within UNICE, the predecessor of BusinessEurope, we supported him in his efforts to turn the competition he had experienced as a minister into the driving force behind an unfettered European internal market, the guarantee of a one-way recovery. With our priorities in line with his own, he launched his single market programme in 1992, the prelude to Maastricht and the euro.

The United Kingdom tried (already!) to oppose it by threatening to boycott the conference, which was a prelude to the Single Act and the abandonment of unanimity that it feared. But the British CBI, whose fax machine I shared in Brussels, managed to change Margaret Thatcher's mind, which was quite a feat! As for our members, even those who were compromised in 1981 in the fallacious reconquest of the internal market miraculously converted to the cycles of preparation for 1992, thereby helping to make my practical guide to the single market a bestseller which greatly enhanced my credibility, including in the banking sector! Thank you once again, Jacques Delors, and all the more so because this programme enabled me, for eight years, to go out every month and check on its progress in all the Member States, at the head of the Single Market Observatory of the European Economic and Social Committee!

Solidarity that unites

A former social adviser to Prime Minister Chaban-Delmas in 1969 and a member of the reformist trade unions, Jacques Delors had a social streak and did not want a single European market without it. But as a man of dialogue, he declared himself ready to give priority to the social partners before any intervention by the Council and the European Parliament. And just as the CBI had convinced Margaret Thatcher of the merits of the single market, we in turn had to convince the CBI of the merits of social dialogue. This was no mean feat! It fell to François Perigot, President of UNICE after having been President of the CNPF, to succeed, at the end of a rollercoaster ride, by agreeing on a majority to open negotiations and unanimity to conclude them, at this stage difficult to block alone against the others.

Zygmunt Tyszkiewicz, Secretary General of UNICE, a great European like François Perigot, both of whom sadly passed away recently, had the task of leading the UNICE delegation during these negotiations. He did so with openness, but also with firmness. I can still remember Jacques Delors reproaching me at the beginning, not without acrimony, for this firmness: "He's too close to perfidious Albion" he said to me. Tyszkiewicz was a Polish child who took refuge in England in 1939 at the age of five and was brought up in a purely British tradition, but he was nonetheless a true European. So I replied: "Better a difficult but reliable interlocutor than a double agent who will betray you". Jacques Delors, an outspoken Christian, jokingly concluded, "Dieu vous entende! His wish was granted, because this social dialogue gave birth to numerous European contractual agreements, confirmed in as many directives.

Faith that shakes things up

To conclude, a final account of what was the real secret of his success, which we urgently need to rediscover with the war back on Europe's doorstep: the faith that shakes things up! Accompanying François Perigot to Jacques Delors' home one day, we had to wait a good hour. Suddenly, to our surprise, the door opened to reveal Helmut Kohl, who had come to negotiate the "day after" the fall of the Berlin Wall. As he introduced us to the Chancellor, Jacques Delors added, clasping his hands together: "I hope that the fall of the walls will inspire, and therefore shake up, social dialogue! Having myself done a year's armed service facing the Berlin Wall, a fracture point in the antagonisms of a divided Europe, before moving to Brussels, a fracture point in the antagonisms between capitals, companies and social partners, I heard myself reply: "In Brüssel wie in Berlin, Ende gut, alles gut". And we all laughed heartily! So, for this best memory of my European life, and for having built so many bridges where until then I had known only walls: Thank you Jacques Delors!

par Henri Malosse

Tribute

Jacques Delors : A great European who knew how to listen and how to be benevolent

I have a very special and personal memory of Jacques Delors that I would like to share, because it seems to me that he demonstrated qualities that are becoming increasingly rare among today's great leaders: listening and benevolence.

Please excuse any lack of modesty you may detect in this anecdote. But, in reality, even if I am a humble protagonist, I believe that this story should be credited solely to the Man of the "social contract".

I had the good fortune to meet Jacques Delors for the first time in Paris in the autumn of 1984, when he had already been appointed President of the European Commission but had not yet taken up his post. At the time, I was the Permanent Representative to the European Institutions in Brussels of the Permanent Assembly of Chambers of Commerce and Industry (APCCI).[1]Its chairman was Alsatian Pierre Netter, who, when he was head of the Centre des Jeunes Dirigeants, had struck up a friendship with the then adviser to Prime Minister Jacques Chaban-Delmas.

Because of this relationship with Pierre Netter, based on esteem and respect, Jacques Delors came to our offices on the Avenue d'Iéna at our invitation, for a lunch which was attended by his future Cabinet Director, Pascal Lamy.

These meetings were repeated several times later in Brussels, at the Berlaymont. Every time President Netter came to visit our Delegation and meet European leaders, we were invited to the table of the President of the European Commission. I was lucky enough to meet Jacques Delors several times during his two terms at the head of the Executive. I also remember a long conversation about Poland and the Balkans, just as the Iron Curtain was coming down. Naturally, we bumped into each other afterwards.

But I have one particular memory of the Paris lunch. It was our Director General, Prefect Laurent Chazal, who led the table discussions. It so happened that, although Jacques Delors had been very familiar with the world of the European Union through his time in the European Parliament for almost two years, where he had very quickly grasped all the issues at stake, he had subsequently distanced himself from it somewhat with his ministerial duties. I was the only one at the table, despite my young age (just thirty), who had day-to-day experience of the mysteries of the European Union, which I had been working on for nearly six years. Jacques Delors took the time to ask me about my reasons for moving to Brussels, my expectations and my hopes. I immediately felt a benevolent, amused and even warm gaze, which encouraged me to open my heart to him and tell him about my passion for European integration.

At the time, Jacques Delors was under pressure from the British and the major industrialists to create the single market (which he did with the Single European Act and the "1992 objective"), but he felt that the future single market had to be counterbalanced by a policy of economic and social catch-up for regions whose development was lagging behind and in favour of the least-favoured groups.... As he said a little later " You can't fall in love with a big market ". I had no hesitation in stressing the importance of involving economic players, such as the CCIs, which are highly representative of the fabric of local SMEs, to support the economic catch-up of favoured areas, train young people through apprenticeships and vocational training, and also mentioned the value of organising student exchanges on a European scale to "make Europeans". I was outspoken in my criticism of the way in which the French state had appropriated the meagre European regional development funds in order to be reimbursed for the credits granted to improve the Breton or Auvergne road networks. In fact, until 1984, it was forbidden to mention the European origin of these funds, something that our Delegation of French Chambers of Commerce and Industry did not hesitate to do... To my great surprise, Jacques Delors, who had just left his post as Minister of the Economy and Finance, smilingly gave his blessing to our act of transparency.

I have no pretension of believing that our conversations in Paris had much influence on the implementation of the cohesion policy or the ERASMUS programme, but what impressed me most was the great humility of the man, the great consideration he had for the institution we represented, the Chambers of Commerce and Industry, his great respect for Pierre Netter and Laurent Chazal, but also the astonishing benevolence he showed me. He had come to listen, not to listen to himself speak, like so many politicians who invite courtiers to their table, hoping for admiration and expecting compliments.

Jacques Delors was awaited in Brussels with a great deal of suspicion because of his socialist commitment and his participation in François Mitterrand's first government, the government of nationalisations. He proved to be an outstanding President, possessing both the ability to engage in dialogue and to listen that is required of someone who must bring Europeans together, but also the firm determination never to give in when Europe's interests demanded it. For me, these are the qualities of a true Statesman possessed by this self-taught man from a modest family, a discreet but fervent Catholic, who will remain, I am sure, one of the great Frenchmen of Europe, on a par with Jean Monnet or Robert Schuman.

[1] APCCI: now CCI France

par Philippe Laurette

Tribute

I wanted to complement the excellent contributions by Henri Malosse and Bruno Vever.

I wasn't a close friend of Jacques Delors and wasn't part of his inner circle, but I had the pleasure of meeting and talking to him, for example at the Maison de Jean Monnet, at the convention of the European Movement in Lille and at the Jean Monnet Foundation in Lausanne. I also had the opportunity to listen to him many times. I also often saw members of his team in Paris, Brussels and Strasbourg.

I won't go back over his career as a great European, but I will try in a few sentences to explain why there is a nostalgia for Delors in the European institutions, in many capitals and in French public opinion.

Jacques Delors possessed many qualities considered too rare in France.

He was :

  • in the service of a project: the construction of Europe, and not in the service of a personal career plan. His person was of little importance to him. He will not be a candidate for the presidency of the Republic despite favourable opinion.
  • humble, honest, sincere and respected his commitments
  • open to discussion and exchange, and the opposite of a sectarian
  • conscientious and hard-working
  • simple and determined

It wasn't for him:

  • privileged interlocutors compared to others.
  • large or small countries.

He didn't work alone.

He knew :

  • surround himself with a diverse and efficient team of top-quality people, who, like Jean Monnet's colleagues, did not count their time
  • be in permanent contact with a wide network in civil society: associations, social partners, intellectuals, Christian circles, ....

He was respected for all this and yes, we miss Jacques Delors.

...
Back to top
en_GBEN

Hommage à Jacques Delors

Nos instances

27 mars 2024


par les membres de l'AJM

Hommage à Jaques Delors

par Bruno Vever

Hommage

Jacques Delors aura résumé toute son approche européenne en une seule phrase : « la concurrence qui stimule, la coopération qui renforce, la solidarité qui unit ».
Trois souvenirs vécus me reviennent sur cette parfaite cohérence au cœur de son action.

La concurrence qui stimule

Quand François Mitterrand tenta en 1981 une politique économique à contre-courant de tous nos partenaires européens, j’étais depuis deux ans jeune délégué permanent du CNPF, représentant nos entreprises à Bruxelles, jusque-là trop délaissée et devenue en un jour l’ultime bastion de nos libertés. Les nationalisations des grandes entreprises et des banques allèrent de pair avec le mur d’un contrôle des changes oppressif. Face à l’inévitable dégradation du commerce extérieur, le pouvoir tenta une « reconquête du marché intérieur » à l‘opposé du marché commun et du SME. Ses illusoires sirènes troublèrent et fracturèrent l’unité de nos adhérents.

Confronté à ces divisions internes, je décidai, malgré les pressions et les risques, de jouer à fond la carte européenne et d’appuyer la Commission dans tous ses contre-feux. Je me retrouvai ainsi en allié objectif de Jacques Delors, réaliste qui tentait lui-même, comme ministre des finances, de limiter les outrances et les dégâts. A l’issue de deux années périlleuses, François-Xavier Ortoli, vice-président de la Commission, m’apprit que notre résistance avait payé : « j’ai vu Delors hier, la France revient à la raison et nous allons aider le retour du fils prodigue ». A cette fin, Delors avait mis sa démission en balance, convaincu qu’aucun progrès n’est durable sans concurrence.

La coopération qui renforce

Quand Jacques Delors devint en 1984 président désigné de la Commission européenne, il s’évada de sa mairie de Clichy pour multiplier les contacts. Nous l’appuyâmes au sein de l’UNICE, aïeule de BusinessEurope, à faire d’une concurrence subie comme ministre la force motrice d’un marché intérieur européen sans entraves, gage d’une relance sans retour. Nos priorités rejoignant les siennes, il lança son programme du marché unique en 1992, prélude à Maastricht et à l’euro.

Le Royaume-Uni tenta (déjà !) de s’y opposer en menaçant de boycotter la conférence préludant à l’Acte unique et à l’abandon qu’il redoutait de l’unanimité. Mais la CBI britannique dont je partageais le télécopieur à Bruxelles réussit, bel exploit, à faire changer d’avis Margaret Thatcher ! Quant à nos adhérents, même ceux compromis en 1981 dans la fallacieuse reconquête du marché intérieur se reconvertirent par miracle dans des cycles de préparation à 1992, contribuant par là même à faire de mon guide pratique du marché unique un best-seller qui conforta beaucoup mon crédit, y compris bancaire ! Merci à nouveau, Jacques Delors, et ce d’autant plus que ce programme me permit, huit années durant, d’aller vérifier chaque mois sur le terrain son état d’avancement dans tous les Etats membres, à la tête de l’Observatoire du marché unique du Comité économique et social européen !

La solidarité qui unit

Ancien conseiller social du premier ministre Chaban-Delmas en 1969, affilié aux syndicats réformistes, Jacques Delors avait la fibre sociale et ne voulut pas d’un marché unique européen qui en soit dépourvu. Mais en homme de dialogue, il se déclara prêt à donner une priorité aux partenaires sociaux avant toute intervention du Conseil et du Parlement européen. Et alors que la CBI avait convaincu Margaret Thatcher des mérites du marché unique, il nous fallut à notre tour convaincre la CBI des mérites du dialogue social. Ce ne fut pas une mince affaire ! Il revint à François Perigot, président de l’UNICE après l’avoir été du CNPF, d’y réussir, à l’issue de péripéties homériques, en convenant d’une majorité pour ouvrir une négociation et d’une unanimité pour la conclure, à ce stade difficile à entraver seul face aux autres.

Zygmunt Tyszkiewicz, secrétaire général de l’UNICE, grand Européen comme François Perigot, tous deux hélas récemment disparus, eut la tâche de conduire la délégation de l’UNICE lors de ces négociations. Il le fit avec ouverture, mais aussi fermeté. Je revois encore Jacques Delors me faisant au début reproche, non sans acrimonie, de cette fermeté : « il est trop proche de la perfide Albion » me dit-il. Enfant polonais réfugié en 1939 en Angleterre, à  l’âge de cinq ans, élevé dans une pure tradition britannique, Tyszkiewicz n’en était pas moins un vrai Européen. J’avais donc répondu : « mieux vaut un interlocuteur difficile mais fiable qu’un agent double qui vous trahira ». Jacques Delors, chrétien affiché, avait alors conclu avec humour « Dieu vous entende ! ». Son vœu fut exaucé car ce dialogue social aura accouché de nombreux accords contractuels européens, confirmés en autant de directives.

La foi qui bouscule

Pour conclure, un dernier témoignage sur ce qui fut le vrai secret de sa réussite, qu’il nous revient de retrouver d’urgence avec la guerre revenue aux portes de l’Europe : la foi qui bouscule ! Accompagnant un jour François Perigot chez Jacques Delors, il fallut patienter une bonne heure. Soudain la porte s’ouvrit, ô surprise, sur Helmut Kohl venu négocier le « jour d’après » du mur qui venait de tomber à Berlin. En nous présentant au chancelier, Jacques Delors ajouta, les mains jointes : « j’espère que la chute des murs va inspirer, donc bousculer, le dialogue social ! ». Ayant moi-même fait un an de service armé face au mur de Berlin, point de fracture des antagonismes d’une Europe divisée, avant de rejoindre Bruxelles, point de fracture des antagonismes entre capitales, entreprises et partenaires sociaux, je m’entendis répondre : «  In Brüssel wie in Berlin, Ende gut, alles gut ». Et nous avons tous ri de bon cœur ! Alors, pour ce meilleur souvenir de ma vie européenne, et pour avoir bâti tant de ponts là où je n’avais jusque-là connu que des murs : Merci Jacques Delors !

par Henri Malosse

Hommage

Jacques Delors : Un grand d’Europe qui savait écouter et se montrer bienveillant

Je garde de Jacques Delors un souvenir particulier et très personnel que je veux bien partager car il me semble témoigner de qualités qui deviennent de plus en plus rares aujourd’hui chez les grands dirigeants : l’écoute et la bienveillance.

Veuillez excuser le manque de modestie que vous pourriez déceler dans cette anecdote. Mais, en réalité, même si j’en suis un humble protagoniste, je crois que cette histoire est à porter au seul crédit de l’Homme du « contrat social ».

J’ai eu la chance en effet de rencontrer une première fois à Paris Jacques Delors à l’automne 1984, déjà nommé Président de la Commission européenne mais pas encore entré en fonction. Ce n’était pas le hasard, mais la chance, j’étais à cette époque le représentant Permanent à Bruxelles auprès des Institutions européennes de l’Assemblée Permanente des Chambres de Commerce et d’industrie, APCCI[1], dont le Président, était l’Alsacien Pierre Netter, qui avait, à l’époque où il dirigeait le Centre des Jeunes Dirigeants, noué des relations d’amitié avec celui qui était alors le Conseiller du Premier Ministre jacques Chaban-Delmas.

Du fait de cette relation avec Pierre Netter, faite d’estime et de respect, Jacques Delors s’était rendu, à notre invitation, dans nos locaux de l’avenue d’Iéna, pour un déjeuner auquel s’était joint son futur Directeur de Cabinet, Pascal Lamy.

Ces rencontres se renouvelèrent plusieurs fois ultérieurement à Bruxelles, au Berlaymont. Chaque fois que le Président Netter venait visiter notre Délégation et rencontrer des responsables européens, nous étions invités à la table du Président de la Commission européenne.  J’ai eu ainsi la chance de m’entretenir plusieurs fois avec Jacques Delors pendant ses deux mandats à la tête de l’Exécutif. J’ai aussi le souvenir d’une longue conversation sur la Pologne et les Balkans, alors que le rideau de fer tombait. Nous nous sommes naturellement croisés par après.

Mais je garde un souvenir particulier du déjeuner parisien. C’était notre Directeur Général, le préfet Laurent Chazal, qui animait les débats de table. Il se trouvait que, si Jacques Delors avait bien connu le monde communautaire par son passage au Parlement européen pendant près de deux ans, dont il avait très vite saisi tous les enjeux, il s’en était un peu éloigné par la suite avec ses fonctions ministérielles. J’étais le seul à table, malgré mon jeune âge (tout juste trentenaire) qui avait une expérience quotidienne des arcanes communautaires que j’arpentais déjà depuis près de six années. Jacques Delors prit le temps de m’interroger sur ce qui m’avait motivé de m’installer à Bruxelles, sur mes attentes, sur mes espoirs. J’ai senti tout de suite un regard bienveillant, amusé et même chaleureux, ce qui m’a encouragé à lui ouvrir mon cœur et à lui faire part de ma passion pour la construction européenne.

A l’époque, Jacques Delors était sous la pression des Britanniques et des grands Industriels pour réaliser le grand marché intérieur (ce qu’il fit avec l’Acte Unique et « objectif 1992), mais il sentait bien qu’il fallait contrebalancer le futur marché unique, par une politique de rattrapage économique et social pour les régions en retard de développement et en faveur des catégories les moins favorisées…. Comme il le dit un peu plus tard « On ne peut pas tomber amoureux d’un grand marché ». Je n’hésitais pas à insister sur l’importance d’associer les acteurs économiques, tels que les CCI très représentatifs du tissu des PME locales, pour soutenir le rattrapage économique des zones favorisées, former les jeunes par l’apprentissage et la formation professionnelle, j’évoquais aussi l’intérêt d’organiser des échanges d’étudiants à l’échelle européenne pour « faire des Européens ». Je critiquais sans détours la façon dont l’état français s’était approprié les maigres fonds européens de développement régional pour se faire rembourser les crédits octroyés à l’amélioration du réseau routier breton ou auvergnat. Il était interdit en effet jusqu’en 1984 de faire mention de l’origine européenne de ces crédits, ce que notre Délégation des CCI françaises n’hésitait pas à faire… A ma grande surprise, Jacques Delors, qui avait tout juste quitté ses fonctions de Ministre de l’Economie et des Finances, avait donné avec le sourire sa bénédiction à notre acte de transparence.

Je n’ai aucunement la prétention de croire que nos conversations de Paris ont eu beaucoup d’influence sur la mise en place de la politique de cohésion ou du programme ERASMUS, mais ce qui m’a impressionné le plus c’est la grande humilité du personnage, la grande considération qu’il avait envers l’Institution que nous représentions, les Chambres de Commerce et d ‘Industrie, son grand respect pour Pierre Netter et pour Laurent Chazal, mais aussi l’étonnante bienveillance qu’il m’avait manifestée. Il était venu pour écouter et non pour s’écouter parler comme tant de Politiques qui invitent à leur table des courtisans dont ils espèrent l’admiration et attendent les compliments.

On attendait Jacques Delors à Bruxelles avec beaucoup de méfiance du fait de son engagement socialiste et de sa participation au premier gouvernement de François Mitterrand, celui des nationalisations. Il s’est révélé un Président hors pair, possédant à la fois les capacités de dialogue et d’écoute qu’il faut à celui qui doit réunir les Européens, mais aussi une ferme détermination pour ne jamais céder quand l’intérêt de l’Europe l’exigeait.  Ce sont pour moi les qualités d’un vrai Homme d’Etat que possédait cet autodidacte, issu d’une famille modeste, catholique discret mais fervent, qui restera, j’en suis certain, comme un des Grands Français d’Europe, au même titre que Jean Monnet ou Robert Schuman.

[1] APCCI : aujourd’hui CCI France

par Philippe Laurette

Hommage

Je souhaitais apporter un éclairage complémentaire aux très belles contributions d’Henri Malosse et Bruno Vever.

Je n’étais pas un intime de Jacques Delors et ne faisais pas partie de son premier cercle mais j’ai eu le plaisir de le rencontrer et d’échanger avec lui par exemple à la Maison de Jean Monnet, à la convention du Mouvement européen à Lille ainsi qu’à la Fondation Jean Monnet de Lausanne. J’ai eu également l’occasion de l’écouter de nombreuses fois. J’ai par contre vu souvent des membres de son équipe à Paris, Bruxelles ou Strasbourg.

Je ne reviendrai pas sur son parcours de grand européen mais tenterai en quelques phrases d’expliquer les raisons de l’existence d’une nostalgie Delors dans les instances européennes, dans de nombreuses capitales ou dans l’opinion publique française.

Jacques Delors possédait de nombreuses qualités considérées comme trop rares en France.

Il était :

  • au service d’un projet : la construction européenne et pas au service d’un plan de carrière personnel. Sa personne importait peu à ses yeux. Il ne sera pas candidat à la présidence de la République malgré une opinion favorable.
  • humble, honnête, sincère et respectait ses engagements
  • ouvert à la discussion, aux échanges et le contraire d’un sectaire
  • consciencieux et travailleur
  • simple et opiniâtre

Il n’y avait pas pour lui :

  • d’interlocuteurs privilégiés par rapport à d’autres.
  • de grands ou de petits pays.

Il ne travaillait pas seul.

Il avait su :

  • s’entourer de collaborateurs diversifiés et efficaces de grande qualité, qui comme ceux de Jean Monnet ne comptaient pas leur temps
  • être en relation permanente avec un réseau large dans la société civile : associations, partenaires sociaux, intellectuels, milieux chrétiens, ….

Il était respecté pour tout cela et oui Jacques Delors nous manque.

...
Back to top
fr_FRFR